We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Castillo de San Marcos”

Castillo de San Marcos
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.86*
and up
St Augustine Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Castillo de San Marcos”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Extensive grounds - allow about 2 hours to walk around and see everything. Get the self-guided tour info brochure and try to sit-in on one of the Ranger talks. Very worthwhile.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ken07641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,148
    2,052
    375
    29
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Well preserved history.”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We made our yearly visit. It was just as nice as our last visit if not better. The view was incredible over the bay with el galleon in the background.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jamey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful piece of history”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have visited Florida dozens of times over the years. For our 20th anniversary, we decided to try St Augustine. The fort was awesome. Very interesting and full of historical significance. Highly recommend the few dollars they charge to enter.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Definitely visit the fort, but a few upgrades would make this place better.”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

The fort is very easy to find in old town St Augustine. It is very cool to walk around the ancient stone fortress. It also gives insight into the lives of the settlers, and the constant foes, from pirates to the English to Mosquitos, that they had to face on a regular basis. Look into getting discount tickets for military, seniors, and students. Overall, I think this sight could be somewhat improved. They had panels to read but very few artifacts or recreations. I would love to have seen their quarters or kitchens recreated. Most of the stone rooms are empty. The small exhibit on cannonballs was very interesting, I would like to have seen a few more exhibits like that. The grounds and views from the towers made the trip worthwhile. Kids will like climbing around the fort too. It only takes about two hours max to see everything inside.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TT_ND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite part of our trip!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Castillo do San Marcos is fantastic! It's full of history; and the volunteers make the experience even better.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castillo de San Marcos also viewed

 

Been to Castillo de San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing