We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic tour”

The Oldest Store Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.86*
and up
St Augustine Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour
More Info
$40.74*
and up
Discover St Augustine: Attractions Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off
Ranked #29 of 188 things to do in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This museum gives us a peek at how different things were in colonial times.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The guide puts you back to about 1905 or so demonstrating (and trying to sell you) the latest and greatest household items of that time. What a blast!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    146
    67
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa,Fl
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Enjoy the place”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We really enjoyed going through the old store next to the old jail. The cost of about 10 dollars is about what other places charge for admission. You have the Lightner museum that has stylized old furniture,glass wear, and music boxes. The Pirate museum with its history and relics. But, the old store is as what you would imagine, the walmart of its day. Old washing machines, old bicycles, and kitchen utensils. It takes you back and allows you to see how things have progressed to today. I would tell friends to go here and get a good laugh at some of the prices paid for lifes modern conviences in the late 1800's. Probably not the sort of place young children would appreciate and enjoy. But, well worth the visit in my opinion. Please note that there is an old store, and an oldest strore museum. This one is located on trolley stop 1, or next to the old jail.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank eveana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Loved this!!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

One of our favorite things we did in saint augestine. Really takes you back to the era. It doesn't take a long time to do this so it's easy to fit into your schedule. Loved the girl host.. She was so funny! She wants you o interact with her. Remember that!

Helpful?
Thank Hedavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quick Tour”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

It was interesting to see what a general store would look like. The guide spoke fast and seemed to rush through his descriptions. The merchandise did appear to be authentic to the ira. The tour was an extra $3, since I purchased a pass to go the Old Jail. If not for this amount, I would not recommend doing it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sarac891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A step back in time....”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

For such a small store the tour was extremely detailed and informative. When we first walked in it looked as though the whole experience was going to be very short (as the outside and inside looked a bit cramped); but as we ventured on, we soon discovered there was a whole other room in the back with a bunch of old contraptions (bikes, washing machines, etc). There were some wax figures and boy was I surprised when one of them came to life and continued with the guided tour!! Everyone who worked there was very enthusiastic and loved what they did which made the whole thing more enjoyable. Would highly recommend for all the history lovers!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Oldest Store Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing