We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oldest Store Museum

The Oldest Store Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.86*
and up
St Augustine Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This museum gives us a peek at how different things were in colonial times.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

This tour is less of the history of the tour and more of a step back into the times when the store was open to the public. They act out a regular day at the store. The actors are fun and the appliances and things for sale are interesting. They also take you into the warehouse and show you the "latest" inventions (makes you glad you live in our times) Very entertaining. its a quick tour. again its not about teh history of the store it is more of a look at the merchandise in those days.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank scalderin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    133
    62
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vidalia, Georgia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Step back in TIME.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

This was included in our trolley pass for the day. Not sure of the exact cost. My husband and I got a kick out of it.. Tour takes you through a general store and storage warehouse. A ton of old household and farm equipment.. Makes you thankful for what we have today!! We got a laugh out of the tour guide, Georgia.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank G-Ma30474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“A added price to the trolley ride. Not worth it . It should be included in trolley ticket price .”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

We were using our "free ride " tickets for the trolley from a earlier bad experience with this company and were sold tickets to this only to learn it was part of the same company. The actors were good and the place was somewhat interesting but the charge was excessive for what it was. Others in our group thought so too. I think if it was included in the ride price as well as The Old Jail ( which is another add on) it might make people not feel so price gouged. We had a couple of bad experiences with the trolley rides and Christmas rides so we will not be back.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank francesshogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Historictours, General Manager at The Oldest Store Museum, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to the Oldest Store Museum Experience. We do back up all of our attractions and tours with a 100% money back guarantee that you can access in the customer service area of our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Blast from the past”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

The Oldest Store is included in the Trolley Tour and what a great treat! The storekeep "Gideon" was wonderful - part salesman, part huckster- he made us realize we absolutely could NOT live without the new fangled corn sheller! ...Or the goat powered washing machine... Seriously, this place was fun. Maybe not ride-a-roller-coaster thrilling, but OMG-we-used-to-have-one-of-those funny. And of course, it doesn't hurt that they start the tour with a free piece of stick candy.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank kkiddkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
now Orlando
Level Contributor
169 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

This little muesuem was very cool. Keep an open mind and travel back in time to a simple life style. Its about a 25 min tour and it shows how things were priced back in the day. Cool to see the different items of the day and compared today how they were started. Good tour for the entire family!!!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank JTTsports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Historictours, General Manager at The Oldest Store Museum, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Thank you for your review of our museum and for spending your vacation time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oldest Store Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Oldest Store Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing