We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!”
Review of Hazel's Hot Dogs

Hazel's Hot Dogs
Ranked #183 of 583 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago Suburbs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Kept driving past this place and everytime it was busy. Figured that was a good sign so we decided to give it a try. All I can say was YUM! I just had a plain "chicago" style dog but son and hubby tried the chili dog, sauerkraut dog and the spicy dog. Two thumbs up from both! Fries are super good too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chicagoarchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    25
    8
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worst hotdog ever”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I have past this place many times while in St Augustine and finally decided one day to try them out at lunch with my son. Well they definitely win the title of thinnest hotdog. It felt more like I was eating a slim jim than a hotdog. Lacked taste and didn't seem like I was eating a hotdog. It also took awhile to get our order even though there was no crowd at the time. Fries were nothing to write home about and seemed the usual frozen variety. The price for what you get is outrageous. This is the first and last time for Hazels.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good dogs, good fries, good shakes”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The service was a bit slow, but the food was good. It's nice to be able to pull off the side of the road and grab a quick lunch. They made the food fast, but it took a while for anyone to take our order.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahmckitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We love Hazel's!!!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great dogs, lots of varieties, good fries, and excellent value. There are a few tables outside, undercover, but that's it, and they close up at 6pm. It looks like a shack, but looks are deceiving. They do a great job! We'll be back on our next trip to St. Augustine.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JD_wpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not bad hotdogs”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

but lethel fries...VERY GREASY. I mean, what's a hotdog? They have sausage dogs and chips. Their fries are limp and heavy and a heart attack.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maggie714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hazel's Hot Dogs also viewed

Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 
St. Augustine, FL
 

Been to Hazel's Hot Dogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing