We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going downhill fast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Safety Harbor Resort & Spa, A Trademark Collection Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Safety Harbor
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Probably no surprise but since the bankruptcy filing, despite the reassurances sent out and published in the media, the services continue to decline. One of the main features of the facility is the heated lap pool which has been without heat for most of the last two weeks which covered both Christmas and New Years weeks. Today I played tennis (the condition of the courts is a whole other review) and went in to take a shower and was told there was no soap or shampoo available in the locker rooms. The spa staff is friendly and tries to accomodate but can't do much when there doesn't seem to be any attention paid to the basics anymore.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrsflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,045)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

856 - 862 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2010

Hotel room dirty, when finally spoke to manager, she was surly & condesending. Spa needs to be properly maintained. Such a shame as it is great location & with better management & Staff it could really be a lovely destination. Needs employee overhall desperately.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strazie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

I have stayed at the Safety Harbor Resort & Spa on several occasions and have always had a great experience. The staff is helpful, the views are amazing, the beds are comfortable and the restaurant serves exceptional food. This is the first time that I have come for a "spa day" with friends and will definately plan to do it again. We had lunch in the restaurant and used the pool between spa services. All of our appointments were on time and we felt very pampered. Overall, the day was smooth and relaxing, as a spa day should be.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenniferb0726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

I had both a positive and a very negative experience here. The manicure was fine, the hair updo fun. The pedicure was awful, overpriced, poorly done by a dour, unfriendly employee. They tell me they recently renovated the spa facilities, but generally feels like a basement. Little natural light. Employees are a combination of experienced professionals and students. Complaint to general manager seemed unproductive once he determined I was passing through. I did not stay at the hotel as I was renting a nearby cottage.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maineage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

My stay at the resort was actually quite pleasant. However on arrival there were two upsetting events. Even though we had ordered two queen beds, which we had called the resort about directly and were assured that was what we were getting, on arrival we were told we had a king bed. We were told that was all that was available! After much arguing with the desk person, he finally found another room that was really an upgrade, but which had had work done in the bathroom and needed cleaning around the sink.
The other unplanned and upsetting incident occured on check in as well. Even though in our call to the resort we had asked if there were any other charges for the room and were told "no", we were told that there was a $16, per day resort fee for everyone staying there. This was extremely annoying, since we had pont blank asked before! Also the personel at the desk were even unaware of things happening in their own town. We had to ask at a local restaurant! Pool towels were also only sporatically available.
With the amount of traffic the resort gets with weddings conferances etc, there customer service needs a great deal of improvement!
I would reccomend the resort with caution. I would want people to know about the resort fee! People should be told ahead about this fee. It should not be hidden and people shouldn't be told on check in when they have no other choice but to pay it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

This resort was a nice unpretentious place to stay for a "de-stressing". We stayed for 4 days and treated ourselves to the Spa services and ate at the hotel's restaurant every day. The food was very good, the service was excellent. We really did not venture into town as we were there to do absolutely nothing. Most everyone that I came into contact with at this resort was so very nice and friendly . The pool area and grounds were well tended and the view from our Palm Pavillion room was breathtaking. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in!!! I have never been to a Spa of any kind and usually do not fit in with the "spa goers", but the guests were of all shapes, sizes and ages, I did not feel the least bit out of place. They have a wonderful history room that was so relaxing that I took out my kindle and read for a while. What I say is the real deal and I am definately going to return!

Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
Thank Tinkerbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

I sent there for a weekend, the place was fabulous.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ravenblack_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Safety Harbor
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Northwest / Oldsmar
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Clearwater Central
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Northwest Oldsmar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#62 of 98 in Clearwater
374 reviews
6.7 mi away
Beso Del Sol Resort
Beso Del Sol Resort
#4 of 8 in Dunedin
305 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Clearwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safety Harbor Resort & Spa, A Trademark Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safety Harbor Resort & Spa, A Trademark Collection Hotel

Address: 105 N Bayshore Dr, Safety Harbor, FL 34695-3124
Location: United States > Florida > Safety Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Safety Harbor
Price Range: $130 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Safety Harbor Resort & Spa, A Trademark Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Safety Harbor Resort and Spa is located on 22 acres of pristine waterfront along Tampa Bay. In addition to the 50,000 square foot spa & fitness center, the resort also offers over 30,000 sqft of flexible meeting and banquet space - perfect for any conference or wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Safety Harbor Resort & Spa, A Trademark Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safety Harbor Hotel Safety Harbor
Safety Harbor Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing