We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 1st Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Safety Harbor Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Safety Harbor
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I really liked this place. Why? Who would have thought a historic landmark exists in Safety Harbor, a small town across the bay from big Tampa. The resort itself is very old and has survived through the years with a number of owners. I was fortunate enough to stay recently for the long weekend. The room we stayed in was updated with modern furnishings and bathroom fixtures. The only item lacking in the room was a small refrigerator. Other than that, the room was very quiet because it faced a courtyard as opposed to the pool area.

The pool area includes a bar that sells food and drinks. They can make a lot more money if they hired additional servers to man the entire pool area. The one server was limited to the bar area although she did bring food out to customers if they ordered at the bar. Bring an empty bottle to fill up with water at the many water dispensers throughout the hotel, including one next to the pool bar.

The spa is a full blown spa with an indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, lockers, showers, etc. Please take advantage of the spa if you are a guest of the hotel. It is free for hotel guests and members.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Toan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,029)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

638 - 644 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

Spacous room in the Palm tower with great beds, & a great view from the balcony overlooking Tampa Bay. Always enjoy visiting Safety Harbour Resort and the town. Great walking the streets of this town, lots to see and do. Had a problem with my bill but it was handled by a nice lady over the phone. Will be back to enjoy this gem on the Bay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I came down from CT., to see family and we spent two nights at the "Spa". Totally unsafactory. No lamps by the bedside (I actually fell), Some guy who identified himself as the "Director of Opperations, Roco" was so rude and condesending! We spent good money and felt like we were treated like second class citizens. I would NEVER recommend this facility to anyone in the near future. This is truly a shame as the location is beautiful as is the city of Safety Harbor.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have a disabled son and the rooms in this hotel are spacious and the beds are so comfortable. The reservation staff and front of house staff are amazingly helpful. They will try and do anything they can to help you.
Althought the hotel itself is dated in it decor, this adds to the charm and feel of the place. Safety Harbor is so peaceful and quiet, yet it has so many nice restaurants, some of which are literally in a house.
Manatees frequent the waters and can be spotted whilst walking down the pier.
The restaurant serves the best steak and the fresh fish is simply amazing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WoodCorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Loved the location, awesome little town. A couple of things could be improved upon like the parking for guests and there should be refridgerator should be included in the rooms and not be available for rent for $10.00 a night.Oh yeah rude pool bar staff.

Room Tip: Loved our view, however we were right on the end and a huge spot light right outside our patio, also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rayette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel sits on a beautiful property overlooking Tampa Bay. From our 5th floor room, the balcony view was of the Bay, gardens, fountain and a wide grassy lawn dotted with palm trees. The pool and Tiki Bar were set in the gardens and really welcoming - even for kids. The hotel rooms were spacious and well decorated, and the beds were super comfortable. Public spaces were lush and the restaurant and room service were reasonable and excellant. The hotel is located near the charming sections of Safety Harbor's "oldtown" area with lots in walking distance. The only real downside was that the bathroom of our room had some outdated fixtures and a touch of mildew - but this is Florida! This hotel is a very good value, much superior to others in the area but at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place is like being trapped on a cruise ship that doesn't move. Hideous fake-fancy (think the lobby of a funeral parlor) furnishings, bad lighting, stale air. Horrible wifi and cell phone reception. Disgusting indoor pools with signs reminding guests not to SHAVE in the jacuzzi...

The main problem is the service. They are so poorly staffed it's next to impossible to get basic information or services...like a cart to carry your luggage (not even a bellhop -- just a cart!)...or to get through to anyone on the phone to request that they please getting around to cleaning your room (at 3pm!). If it were just the frustration of not being able to get anyone's attention for 45 minutes at a time it would be problematic but not soul-depleting...but here, when you finally pull it off they are so RUDE. Particularly the waiters and bartenders. Every time we ordered anything we were instantly greeted with a very detailed and combative lecture on prices, the complexity of which was vast and ever-changing...what was worse is that the amounts we were constantly being forced to haggle over were over such small sums -- like $2 -- that had they just stopped HARASSING us about prices whenever we ordered ANYTHING we never would have even noticed what we were being charge. (Whatever you do, do not order their inclusive packages. No one at the hotel understands the rules, which always change depending on who you talk to, and there are better bars and restaurants within walking distance.)

I grudgingly award two stars instead of one because the spa treatments are fine and the people who give them are 10 times more professional than the rest of the staff. It is not worth the hideous vibe and psychological torture, however.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the ground floor. It gets even worse wifi and cell signal than the rest of the pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Safety Harbor
8.6 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,428 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Clearwater
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Northwest / Oldsmar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
La Quinta Clearwater Central
La Quinta Clearwater Central
#29 of 98 in Clearwater
673 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mar Bay Motel & Suites
Mar Bay Motel & Suites
#2 of 3 in Safety Harbor
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safety Harbor Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safety Harbor Resort and Spa

Address: 105 N Bayshore Dr, Safety Harbor, FL 34695-3124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Safety Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Safety Harbor
Price Range: $141 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Safety Harbor Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Safety Harbor Resort and Spa is located on 22 acres of pristine waterfront along Tampa Bay. In addition to the 50,000 square foot spa & fitness center, the resort also offers over 30,000 sqft of flexible meeting and banquet space - perfect for any conference or wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Safety Harbor Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safety Harbor Hotel Safety Harbor
Safety Harbor Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing