We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Safety Harbor Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Safety Harbor
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not worth the money.”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had heard that it was a wonderful place to spend the evening. It being our 1 year anniversary, my husband and I wanted to experience something unique. We reserved the junior suite for one evening. Nearly $300 later (a resort and an "occupancy tax" included), we were disappointed with our choice. The room was nicely decorated, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom had a lovely tub. Why were we disappointed? The kitchen had a dripping vent that we noticed while standing in the small kitchen. The space of the kitchen and the constant dripping made it nearly impossible to use half the kitchen where the vent was located. We decided to go for a swim. To our dismay the crowd in the pool area were making "animal calls" to their friends who were calling back at them from their hotel rooms. Not what we expected/have experienced when staying at a resort. Not relaxing for us so we went for a stroll to explore the "shops" we told of when we checked in. What shops? There were 2 shops and 1 was empty, as in no assistant present. The lunch by the pool was pleasant, but nothing we could not have ordered at the local food court. The dinner at The Fountain Restaurant, the resort's restaurant, was also disappointing. My husband ordered the Prime Rib, medium well, and received it rare. The next morning we had breakfast in the same restaurant (continental). The only thing that seemed fresh on the buffet table was the pineapple. Just overall, not what we had expected. We do not plan to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LoveTheSun075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    282
    161
    135
    91
See reviews for
231
295
72
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Located in a small community just on the outskirts of Clearwater. Stepping back into time when you walk in to the reception area. Charming dining room for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We just had dessert and breakfast in dining room and the food is very good, service is very good as well. Servers are happy to work and want to please. Got a great rate, went through priceline.com. A good value for the money. Did not have a mini fridge in room, called front desk and one was sent up free of charge. Room was garden patio facing pool. Nice lounge area on brick paver with the most comfortable lounge chairs that were so relaxing having a glass of wine and cheese, listening to poolside band. No real view of pool, however had alot of privacy of travelers palms in front of room. Nice french door and large glass windows on each side leading out to patio for relaxing. Me when we arrived and first thing in the AM with my coffee. Room was spacious and updated bathroom. The only down fall for the room was the AC was so cold or no air at all, had to wear socks to bed and chilly most of night. Spa was relaxing and Heather at reception was wonderful with personality and customer service. Elleyn took pride in her work place showing me around the spa and getting my whereabouts. Relaxing by pool after the hydro therapy tub. Poolside service, an amazing frozen mango margarita and yummy chicken on a bed of lettuce with bleu cheese and fresh avacoda, my kind of lunch by pool! Great getaway for the price. Oh the most important the hotel uses the spring water from their spring in resteraunt and for spa services as well as the plunge pool and lap pool. The spring water is really amazing and feels so fresh and invigorating! and tasty to drink with meals!!! Think the hydro bath made me feel the best I have felt in a long time after a spa treatment...

Room Tip: garden patio rooms nice and large, updated bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndySarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is a historic hotel but very well maintained. Our king bed room was great. Loved the service and the fitness facilities. Great happy hour by the pool. Didn't eat at their restaurant but it looked appealing. We walked a couple blocks to sample a local restaurant, Green Springs Bistro, which was excellent. There are small shops within walking distance, too. And of course, Starbucks. We had a great stay. Also, drove to Tampa a couple times during our stay, not very far at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronda123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Nice rooms. Great food. Sunday Brunch is outstanding. Rooms were clean, staff was friendly. What I didn't like: Room was very cold. I'm from VT, and the room was cold. Also, toilet flushing from upstairs(?) or next room was VERY loud and loud as water came through the pipes. I would still highly recommend and I look forward to another, and longer visit.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

If you like a little history to go with your resort stay, Safety Harbor Resort and Spa mitt be just for you. Under going a remodel, many of the guest areas are done or will be soon and look nice and fresh. The spa area is quite beautiful and services are reasonable priced. Restaurants do well with the food and are a terrific value. Portions on the small side, but you should expect that from a spa restaurant.
In downtown Safety Harbor, there are several restaurants close by or a short drive on the 19 freeway.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the remodeled rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The rooms and hotel itself were clean and comfortable, but it has a lot of hallways and an odd layout. The restaurant food was excellent. We enjoyed our visit to the spa until it flooded and closed, which was not their fault, but put a damper on our trip nonetheless. The one cocktail lounge that was a tiny bit interesting also flooded and was closed. If you are looking for any kind of night life, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a quiet vacation, you will probably like it.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed at this hotel on an all inclusive basis for the last three nights of our epic trip to Florida. However, every time we used our 'all inclusive' vouchers we were presented with a bill for tax and tip! Surely, the tax could be sorted at checkout? Tip no problem but tax-it became a pain! Having said all that the stay was lovely, all staff we encountered were great especially Daniel (waiter) and the lady (Erica?) in the bar Sat & Sun nights.
After the hassle and bustle of Miami and Orlando this small town was a welcome break. The Irish bar up the main street (Nolan's) made us very welcome.
Eat early esp on a Sunday otherwise you'll go hungry!!! Room service finishes at 10pm too.
The room was big with a lovely view over the sea. My daughter and I both had treatments where we were made very welcome! Poolside lovely.
After check in we were directed to our room through a Wedding (rather bizarre!) especially as we would have been in their photos!! A little extra thought here would have helped! We just found something to do for 15mins then found our room!!!
Remember if you do all inclusive it's based on 2 sharing not the total number in your room and under 18's can't use the spa!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Sarah1523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Safety Harbor
8.6 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,375 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Clearwater
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Yacht Harbor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,135 reviews
8.6 mi away
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
#27 of 98 in Clearwater
466 reviews
18.4 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safety Harbor Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safety Harbor Resort and Spa

Property: Safety Harbor Resort and Spa
Address: 105 N Bayshore Dr, Safety Harbor, FL 34695-3124
Location: United States > Florida > Safety Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Safety Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Safety Harbor Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Safety Harbor Resort and Spa is located on 22 acres of pristine waterfront along Tampa Bay. In addition to the 50,000 square foot spa & fitness center, the resort also offers over 30,000 sqft of flexible meeting and banquet space - perfect for any conference or wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Safety Harbor Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safety Harbor Hotel Safety Harbor
Safety Harbor Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing