We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Locals' Spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marian's Sub Shop

Marian's Sub Shop
Ranked #10 of 55 Restaurants in Ruskin
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Locals' Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Cash only. There aren't a lot of reviews here because the locals already know about Marian's but it's not flashy enough for tourists. It's been here for decades though, so that should say something. There's only one oven, so locals know to call ahead during the lunch rush. Costs are minimal for a filling, delicious sub. There is only one picnic table outside, but drive your truck in and sit in the bed. The sub is best eaten hot and fresh.

The history of this restaurant was the most fascinating to me. I haven't done any fact checking, however, so believe what you want. The lady who started this restaurant decades ago came from a fishing family. Her husband of one year left her and her newborn son when he decided that he didn't want to be a father or something like that. She had been working odd jobs to take care of herself and her son when she won a fishing competition that rewarded her with a new car and a large sum of money. She bought the corner lot of what would become the busy intersection of Ruskin and built this concrete building. The other side was rented to a taco shop, but she made one sub and that's been the menu since. Only recently have they updated the shop with air conditioning.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Cassie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ruskin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Sub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Only one sub with some options on the toppings, half or whole, deluxe or regular. Order at counter and wait, take your sub and leave, no seating inside or out. It is a very good sub, I like to take mine just around the corner to a little water front park. The staff has no personality at all so don't be offended they treat us all the same way.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ResortPirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent food, very rude service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Be prepared for the bigger lady making the sandwiches to be pretty rude. Very rudely at the end of making me my sandwich sets it on the counter...I say thank you, and she walks away completely ignoring me. She definitely heard me. Overall, sandwich was pretty good, I don't feel like its priced as great as the other reviews make it...$9 for a sub is nothing to write home about. But, like I said, overall it was pretty good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank frank a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BEST SUBS EVER”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

They have the best subs around the area. Much better tasting and less expensive for the amount of food then subway. love ur subs.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jessica7607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great sandwich...have it their way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We just love Marian's Sub Shop. They make one kind of sub and they do it well. You can pick the toppings but we just go with toasted and the works!. Only negative is the limited hours and can be very busy at lunchtime especially. One full size sandwich can easily feed two.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RoLoHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marian's Sub Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing