We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are you kidding.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ruskin Inn Hotel

Ruskin Inn Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ruskin Inn Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ruskin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Are you kidding.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel on Orbitz is listed as 3 star. The hotel is a 1 on a good day. You walk in and it smells terribly from smoke. The room had mold in bathroom and showering the water did not drain. The hotel is stuck in the 80s decor and staff was unpleasant. I would never go back.

Room Tip: Don't get a room here if you are looking for a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrf42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    7
    7
    13
See reviews for
18
14
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oak Harbor, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed four nights while visiting friends. The room, hallways, stairs, etc. were very clean and neat. The bed was comfortable.The staff was pleasant and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean. It had free WiFi. The breakfast selection included hot & cold foods and juices but there was no fruit. We will stay here again. It is a great value for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruskin, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Ruskin Inn is clean, has great beds in a beautiful location and pet friendly. Enjoyed stay.
Only negative was that the coffee was the worst I have ever had. McDonalds across the street make it a plan to go for coffee

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLD33570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norristown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed here for three nights while visiting family. I found the staff very pleasant and helpful. The room was comfortable, clean. The bathroom was well stocked, clean and water pressure was good during my stay. For the price, this hotel is really very good. I have stayed in comparable rooms for three and four times the amount we paid. The only difference was that other hotels had a more modern flat screen tv, but I wasn't there to watch tv, although they offered free cable/HBO here. The breakfast selection: eggs, sausage, biscuits, gravy, cold or hot cereal, bagels, muffins, breads, coffee and juices. I would have liked to see fresh fruit, but everything available was fresh and plentiful. Coffee was available all day. Our room was very nice, clean and cheery. The bed was comfortable with spotless crispy white linens. I was happy to see a duvet and no yucky bedspread. I was pleasantly surprised to find a small fridge and microwave in the room. The pool area was well kept with lounge chairs, umbrella table, chairs and outdoor shower. There was a coin-op. washer and drier available and an ironing board/iron in the room. The location was convenient with many nearby shopping centers and it was close to main roads. Also, this is a pet friendly hotel. Some pet friendly hotels I have been in were smelly, but there were no problem smells here. I will definitely stay here again and recommend it. Great value. Excellent, considering the price

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

WORST HOTEL EVER!!!!!!!!!!! Iwill tell u that my job has me at hotels three weeks out of every month! This was the worst hotel experience I've ever had!!! When we checked in they were nice we got into our room and the air conditioner was broke and they wouldn't switch us rooms and there was 5cars in the parking lot that night. We go to dinner and come back into our room and the ceiling fell down do to all the moisture that has built up in the ceiling!!! It went all over our brand new luggage, I go to the front desk and she tells me she will tell her boss in the morning! I go down in the morning to talk to him and he says sorry but there's nothing he can do. I said your ceiling fell and ruined my luggage and he told me to go to the dry cleaner and I'll be fine!!! He wouldn't comp my night stay or anything!!!!! Never stay here it's horrible!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cstitt1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
161 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

The room was clean and comfortable. The tub/ shower area was a little in need of cleaning/ updating. Water pressure was poor. However, for a short stay, you can't beat the value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roccoz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELY CAMBRIDGE UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed here for a one night stopover on our three week trip to discover the "real" Florida. Staff were helpful and friendly and the room and entrance were clean and very acceptable. The breakfast was on the basis side but adequate. A good value, convenient and clean place for a stop over. Bob Eans restaurant (two m inutes by car) proved very acceptable but busy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ELYTRAVELLERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruskin
5.2 mi away
Harborside Suites
Harborside Suites
#2 of 5 in Ruskin
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Sun City Center
3.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa / Riverview / Brandon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Super 8 Ellenton Bradenton Area
14.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ellenton
Red Roof Inn Ellenton
#4 of 4 in Ellenton
3.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
16.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa/Brandon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruskin Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruskin Inn Hotel

Property: Ruskin Inn Hotel
Address: 3113 E College Ave, Ruskin, FL 33570-5266 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Ruskin/Sun City)
Location: United States > Florida > Ruskin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ruskin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ruskin Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ruskin Inn, Ruskin near Sun City Center. Our tastefully appointed guestrooms offer our guests a relaxing stay while visiting the Bay Area. Each room features a microwave, refrigerator, in room coffee maker, iron and board, AM-FM alarm clock radio and over 70 channel cable television with free HBO. Our hotel is within thirty minutes of downtown Tampa, Bradenton and the sandy shores of St. Petersburg beach. Let our staff pamper you while visiting. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Ruskin Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruskin Inn Tampa Sun City Hotel Ruskin
Holiday Inn Ruskin
Ruskin Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Ruskin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing