We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Seafood - Just three days a week!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fish House

The Fish House
Ranked #5 of 56 Restaurants in Ruskin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best Seafood - Just three days a week!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Traveled about an hour to check this place out and it was well worth the drive. Some of the best seafood we've had!!! Lightly battered and yummy. Be aware this is not a "fine dining" experience....far from it......you sit on picnic tables outside but with a cover overhead in case it rains.
This can really be fun if you enjoy talking to complete strangers (but all friendly with big smiles on their faces cause they're chomping on fantastic seafood!) The only negative is that on rainy days, the parking is very tight because the large parking lot on the west side of the building is mostly a mud hole that most cars don't dare park in. Other than that, I highly highly recommend a visit to this quirky dining experience. GREAT SEAFOOD !!!!! ..oh yeah, most importantly, remember they're only open three days a week - Thursday, Friday and Saturday !!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HungryGreek32955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    79
    19
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great fish on the run”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

While visiting my brother in Florida, we decided to order dinner to go from the fish house, What a surprise. This side of the road eatery doesn't amount to much. You can get it to go or eat outside on the picnic tables. Had the fried grouper and it was excellent. Others in the family had various forms of fish and shrimp and all enjoyed the meal. would definitely reccomend this little hole in the wall.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best seafood around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We order the large fish (Basa) dinner with fries and cole slaw and it is plenty for two people. We're from New England and it's hard to find fish restaurants that we really like. This is very rustic, picnic tables outside, Styrofoam plates but just good seafood. We've enjoyed every meal we've had at this restaurant.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hobrien100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandville
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderfu,l Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

What a fantastic meal we had and we sure were in for a surprise with the flavor of our food. We'll be going back to try all the other selections we couldn't decide on. Spoke with some of those sitting around us and all their comments were so positive.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracie1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great take out food or outdoor eating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

The crowds are a true indication of the popularity of this fish place. The line often extends all the way to the road and diners jockey for places to sit at the picnic tables. The fish and and shrimp are excellent and so fresh. They serve a generous portion of fried green tomatoes and a very rich cream soup. If you are going to take your meal home, call in advance and save yourself a long wait in line. Wish it was open more than Thursday, Friday and Saturday.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish House also viewed

 

Been to The Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing