We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Seafood”
Review of The Fish House

The Fish House
Ranked #6 of 57 Restaurants in Ruskin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Deland Fl
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Be reading about the place in Ruskin Fl, well we're here and had to try this place, open Thur, Fri, Sat 11-8 not a restaurant its like take out at a trailer, walk up and order, I had the fish sandwich, this was piled with lots of fish 5 bucks, 2nd days had the captain plate again more than you need, so go a get some good fresh sea food, this is a local hang out, just ask and they will tell you, got to go back to get me another fish sandwich.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scootert2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    81
    19
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Huron, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Neat Little Roadside Restaurant”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

It was a nice place to grab a quick lunch and very good. I had catfish and grits. Prices seemed average. The downside is that they are only open later in the week.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank paullywog71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Picnic tables and fried seafood”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Fish shack outdoor picnic table seating. Bring your own beer/wine. Everything is fried. We had the catfish. Pretty good, but no hush puppies or okra. Nice laid back, Florida country style setting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank icu812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellant Eats”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Was down to see my parents a Hawaiian Isle RV Resort, and they suggested this place to eat.
The fish was fresh and awsome. I dont eat alot of fish and found this very much to my likeing.
If you are in the area you must try it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Outdoor Shack--Good Fish--Fair Prices”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

If you don't care about comfortable seating and atmosphere and want good fried seafood at a very fair price this is your place. Shared picnic tables, and very rustic, but I loved the basic fish dinner. They offer a large version for about $3 more--I struggled to finish the basic one--I thought the portions were generous. Wife had the combo fish and scallops and it was great too. We will return for the fish soon! I saw someone posted fish basket for $20?? This is false--the menu is posted on line, and my fish basket was $10.19, so not correct to say pricey--we think the opposite.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoeGnsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish House also viewed

 

Been to The Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing