We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but in the middle of nowhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at Little Harbor
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ruskin
Valrico, Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice place, but in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Location, location, location. On the water and if you are a boater, great harbor and access to Tampa Bay. If you are a beach goer, well, go to a hotel on the gulf, beach is small and the Tampa Bay is not known for its pristine water. We had some drinks and an appetizer at Hooks Bar on the property. Nice setting overlooking Little Harbor and the mangroves, good selection of drinks and typical bar menu. We choose the outdoor seating, inside seemed fine but tight.
Had dinner at the Sunset Grill on the water. Party of four and everyone's dinner selection was very good and satisfying. We sat in the outdoor area with live music and a 'tiki' bar. Limited selection of draft beers, but just about anything you'd want in bottles. Band, Cosmic Pearl, was great playing boomer tunes.
Hotel room was passable, small, clean but not terribly soundproof.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jfig56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan B, Front Office Manager at The Inn at Little Harbor, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences from your recent stay with us. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy both of the restaurants on our resort. The Tiki Bar really provides a nice atmosphere with the live music and the views across the bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    252
    107
    50
    49
See reviews for
256
256
20
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Just OK,quite location with beautiful sunsets and suite accommodations. However before you go make sure they have updated the rugs in the hall ways and rooms. The restaurant which has separate ownership from the resort is terrible and dirty. We had a TRAVEL ZOO deal that included breakfast which was not worth having even if it was part of the deal.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan B, Front Office Manager at The Inn at Little Harbor, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort, John. We appreciate all feedback and the opportunity it provides us to improve our product and/or services. I'm glad that you were able to enjoy your room accommodations and the beautiful sunsets. The hallway carpeting will indeed be replaced in the near future. I have forwarded your comments regarding the separately leased restaurant to their manager. We hope that you are able to stay with us again and enjoy newly carpeted hallways.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennismore, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed for the month of March at Little Harbor for Five years. I noted that there is a definite classification of guests, as we have been there both as Time Share and Full Paying guests. We enjoy it as it is ont the Bay/ocean, and we enjoy the western sunsets, as well as the activity on the Bay. It is close to shopping, and has several restaurants on site. The sports equipment is complimentary and we make use of the Tennis as well as occasionally rent the non motorized equipment as their is a wonderful mangrove forest around the property as well.

The level of customer is so obvious there, and we wonder why people come in who get the bookings for mere dollars when we have paid full price for everything. The week of spring break is full, you might just as well leave town that week. I am amazed at what guests leave for others to pick up. It is not good to mention it in polite company. There are modifications going on and parts of the resort are being sold to various interests, but basically it is OK. Friends of ours who also stayed there mentioned there is an absense of basic courtesy, as people mostly come and go, while other of us stay. Well, one must cultivate an attitude of Gratitude, and finding a place on the beach is not as easy as it once was. We are going back in 2014.

Room Tip: Two Bedrooms do have a full Kitchen, laundry and balcony. Always good to face the Harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ugogirl143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan B, Front Office Manager at The Inn at Little Harbor, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for coming to our resort year after year! It is always nice welcoming back familiar faces to our resort. I am happy to hear that you continue to enjoy all that our resort offers including our complimentary sports equipment and our proximity to local attractions and shopping. Our new beach attendant is making sure that only our registered guests are utilizing our private beach access, so that our guests can fully unwind and relax on our beautiful beach. We look forward to your return visit in 2014. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any further assistance with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here (Myself, mother, ten y/o niece and four y/o nephew) for two nights and were very impressed. We found the staff to be wonderfully helpful and courteous. The beach was a bit disappointing with all the seaweed floating and on the sand, but still quite beautiful. The kids especially like it. There are three pools, all great. The restaurant closed before we got there for dinner, so we ordered from the bar and took it back to our room. My nephew and I did the ordering and after a long day swimming he fell asleep in my arms before the food was ready, so the kind bartender carried all the food to my car for me as I carried my nephew and the drinks. Great service! The view from our room was awesome, and was quite clean and decorated beautifully. We loved the kitchen area and large bathroom. The balcony was nice for coffee in the morning and drinks at night. We would definitely stay here again. We loved it!

Room Tip: Ask for the newer rooms facing the harbor with the water view. I bought deal on Groupon and then ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHNNA Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan B, Front Office Manager at The Inn at Little Harbor, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and also that our staff was helpful and courteous. I apologize for the seaweed in the bay and on the beach. We have recently hired a full time beach attendant to maintain the appearance of our beautiful white sand beach. We have also recently purchased new beach furniture for the enjoyment of our guests! We hope to accommodate your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushnell, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The room was very comfortable and roomy and the staff was courteous and more than ready to help. With just a few updates this could really be a perfect getaway for families. We will be back but next time bring our boat!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan B, Front Office Manager at The Inn at Little Harbor, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thanks for reviewing our resort! It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was courteous and helpful throughout your stay! We are planning several updates to our resort including new carpeting and new beach furniture, both due in the coming month. We hope to see you and your boat in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our night at Little Harbor. It's a little beach but not a lot of people were on it. Dinner at the restaurant was very good. The restaurant wasn't air conditioned which made the dinning miserable. For the prices of the food they should have air condition. The band at the tiki bar was good but it was like a 2hr wait to even sit. The breakfast buffet was extremely over priced which made us leave earlier than we wanted. All in all I really enjoyed this place. It gives you the beach setting without heading to the real beach.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan B, Front Office Manager at The Inn at Little Harbor, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us at Little Harbor. The restaurant on site is leased by a separate company. However, I was sure to forward your comments and concerns to their manager. I am glad you were able to enjoy our beach access! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband wanted to do some fly fishing so we decided to head down to the gulf for the day and spend the night. Found this hotel and it looks (and the reviews) are better than it really is. The hotel is not all that clean, however, the kitchen area in our junior suite was very well appointed. Fridge, microwave, sink, dishwasher and all the the plates and utensils. But the water coming from the tap is always "warm" it is also this funny tan color. So my advice is stop and buy some bottled water for drinking, etc. The rooms decor is odd, but the bed was comfortable. There are two small couches that flank the TV cabinet and oddly face the bed, not the TV. The TV is very old school, like the 90's and poor visual reception. The balcony was nice and faces the inland waterway, so you can watch the private boats coming and going. The beach is small and the water is not right on the gulf so it is rather dark and unappealing, so we decided to drive south to Long Boat Key for fishing and a much better beach. The staff was nice, but we would not stay at this property again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdaLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan B, Front Office Manager at The Inn at Little Harbor, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is nice to hear that you were able to enjoy the spacious kitchen in your junior suite and the magnificent views from your balcony. Your feedback has been forwarded to our Housekeeping and Maintenance departments. We take all guest comments very seriously and appreciate the opportunity it provides us to improve our product and services. I'm glad you were able to enjoy the beautiful gulf beaches on nearby Longboat Key.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruskin
0.2 mi away
Harborside Suites at Little Harbor
14.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa / Riverview / Brandon
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Sun City Center
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#75 of 163 in Tampa
1,491 reviews
17.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tampa Brandon
1.5 mi away
Pirates Pointe Resort
Pirates Pointe Resort
#3 of 4 in Ruskin
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Little Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Little Harbor

Property: The Inn at Little Harbor
Address: 611 Destiny Dr, Ruskin, FL 33570-3019 (Formerly The Resort & Club at Little Harbor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ruskin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ruskin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Little Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your Caribbean-style island resort on the South Shore of Tampa Bay - The Resort & Club at Little Harbor. This unique resort and residential village provides a harmonious blend of Anglo-Caribbean architecture, lush tropical landscaping, island style hospitality and the natural wonders of a waterfront resort.Conveniently secluded between Tampa and Sarasota, The Resort & Club at Little Harbor is a full-service, AAA Travel Guide, three-diamond, resort hotel and conference center situated on 124 acres, completely surrounded by the tranquil waters of our harbors, marinas and Tampa Bay. No matter how you choose to spend your time, we have an option for you at The Resort & Club at Little Harbor. Relax and enjoy our half mile stretch of secluded, white sandy beach. Take a dip in one of three heated pools and two Jacuzzi. Feeling competitive? Shoot hoops, play beach volleyball or play tennis on one of our five tennis courts. The entire family will enjoy themselves on our 250 foot fishing pier shuffleboard court horseshoe field or in our two fitness centers or enjoy our watersports including kayaks, jetskis, hydro bikes or paddleboards.Boaters arrive in paradise with deep-water access, 330 wet-slips, 220 high and dry slips, on-site fuel dock, bait and tackle store, fully stocked ship’s store, and boat trailer parking with near-by flats and deep sea fishing.Dine at one of two waterfront restaurants, The Sunset Grill or Sunset lounge and our beach-side Tiki Bar. Choose from a selection of steaks, sumptuous seafood, stacked sandwiches open seven days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner, with live entertainment outside on Friday Through Sunday evenings.The Resort & Club at Little Harbor offers a vast array of guest room accommodations perfect for individuals, couples, families and groups desiring a resort destination. Guest accommodations include our standard, deluxe and Junior Suites along with our brand new studio, one, two and three bedroom suites and town homes, all offering breathtaking water views of Tampa Bay or our marinas, harbor and nature preserves.All guest rooms have been completely renovated to provide you with the necessary conveniences to ensure your comfort. An iron and ironing board, hair dryer, coffee maker, microwave and mini refrigerator are standard items in every room. A spacious work desk area with ample lighting, direct dial telephones, free high-speed internet access, 32" flat screen color cable television with free premium channels. Individual climate control air conditioning and heating, private bathrooms with granite counter tops and private balconies or patios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Little Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resort And Club At Little Harbor
The Resort & Club At Little Harbor Hotel Ruskin
Hotel At Little Harbor
Resort At Little Harbor
Resort Club Little Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing