We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what it's cracked up to be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Inn at Little Harbor
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ruskin
Certificate of Excellence
Apollo Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not what it's cracked up to be”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed at the Little harbor Resort in Ruskin, FL New Year's Eve. The room was nice but there was way too much noise and activity. The hotel was overrun with children, the harbor was overrun with drunken boaters, and the staff are a bit condescending. For the price we paid for the room, we expected the place to be more lavish and a little quieter. The hallway carpet was dirty and bleach stained and the bathroom toilet handle was broken. In my opinion, it is not worth the price.

Room Tip: Don't go if you want peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Badhotelssuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    251
    106
    50
    48
See reviews for
254
255
20
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

After visiting the bar and beach one afternoon, my husband and I thought it would be fun to go back and stay for a few days. After making my reservation back in October 2012 for our stay in December 28th, the staff could not find my booking. Claimed there was a computer update and lost my reservation. This didn't leave me with a great impression. Staff didn't tell us anything about the resort during the checkin time. We stayed in the older section of the hotel, which was clean but didn't offer any views. They also booked us right next to a wedding party, and it was obvious there was plenty of other rooms available. Beach is pretty, didn't get to use because the weather was cooler the days we were there. (not the resorts fault). Sunset is pretty, grill is okay, it was the same menu that I remember from 3 years ago. Needs some improvement. The town of Ruskin is nothing that I would recomend. We went to Apollo Beach for dinner, Circles which was very nice. It is too bad the area the resort is in is nice, but needs some help. I have been told that they are under new management, time will tell.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 63MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

and enjoyed three nights in a "junior suite." Two friends who joined us stayed in adjacent standard rooms. Our suite was excellent: spacious, comfy bed, fully equipped kitchenette, and a balcony with room to spare. The balcony of room 401 faces the east and overlooks a lagoon with state park mangroves beyond. At dusk, on our first evening, a pod of dolphins swam in, playfully turned around, and then out again. Only 40 feet from our balcony; it was awesome. Also, on the other side of the building, are great sunsets on the bay. The Sunset Grill is pretty good; but its the setting that is truly spectacular. One of the best beaches in Hillsborough County. And one of the remaining free beaches in the area to the left side of the resort. Also, if you are a boat person. . .you must be in heaven here.

Room Tip: Request upper floor. Front rooms face west for Tampa bay sunsets; rear rooms feature the lagoon. Av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Professor_Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The unit my wife and I had was beautiful: FULLY equipped (full kitchen with real refrigerator and electric range, compact washer and dryer, both a tub, and a shower in the bathroom, pots and pans, glasses, dishes, towels, flat screen TVs, DVD players, iPOd-compatible music system, etc). It got a little noisy around the pool one evening after a new group arrived. Security quieted things down very quickly after the managemeent was inforrmed of the situation. A great place for a quiet restful vacation. It's a little remote; but lots of stuff is within a 45 minute drive.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the marina, in either building A or building C , is probably your best choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAS-PGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great Resort, rooms, and amenities. Not too much outside of resort. Tiki bar has surprisingly good food. Only negative is no wi-fi. They were able to accommodate a last minute room change-stay in the condos not the hotel. Rooms are amazing.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentuckycitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleburne, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I had read all the reviews on this resort, so my expectations were low. But I was very pleasantly surprised.

I was giving my niece, the bride, a shower at the resort on the day of the rehearsal dinner.. I live out of state, so I had to make numerous calls to the resort and the catering office to co-ordinate everything. I was expecting no help from them based on the reviews. But, they were totally accommodating, offering many suggestions, and extremely pleasant each and every time I talked to them.

We arrived to the Resort late at night. But the front desk staff was very friendly checking us in.

After reading the reviews we did choose to stay in the newer condos. The hallways in the condo building were worn, and did not present the best feeling. The condo itself was clean, somewhat dated, but nicely decorated. The cleaning staff was very friendly and accommodating.

After talking to the catering staff I decided to have the shower in the 2 bedroom condo I had rented. It was perfect with the full kitchen, the open concept and the two balconies for people to use, all overlooking the water.

The wedding was on the beach and perfect at sunset. The reception was beautiful and the food was good, the wait staff friendly.

I am sure there is nicer resorts on the water, but I think it would be hard to find one any better for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The stay was unpleasant and had a number of issues, the biggest one being construction drilling noise in a room right above ours at 9.30 am on a Saturday morning! We came to the resort to escape our own remodeling project for a couple of days and ended up having to deal with their construction. The drilling stopped after we called and complained, but there were still other noises from above. A few other things in the room - no wireless, just one wired connection, which was not enough for our two laptops. Also, a few electrical outlets were broken, so there was not enough outlets to charge our phones/computers, etc. There is only one hot tub for a big resort, which was always full of people due to cooler temperatures so we never got to use it. Overall, very disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruskin
0.2 mi away
Harborside Suites at Little Harbor
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Sun City Center
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa / Riverview / Brandon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#75 of 163 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
17.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tampa Brandon
14.4 mi away
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Little Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Little Harbor

Property: The Inn at Little Harbor
Address: 611 Destiny Dr, Ruskin, FL 33570-3019 (Formerly The Resort & Club at Little Harbor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ruskin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ruskin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Little Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your Caribbean-style island resort on the South Shore of Tampa Bay - The Resort & Club at Little Harbor. This unique resort and residential village provides a harmonious blend of Anglo-Caribbean architecture, lush tropical landscaping, island style hospitality and the natural wonders of a waterfront resort.Conveniently secluded between Tampa and Sarasota, The Resort & Club at Little Harbor is a full-service, AAA Travel Guide, three-diamond, resort hotel and conference center situated on 124 acres, completely surrounded by the tranquil waters of our harbors, marinas and Tampa Bay. No matter how you choose to spend your time, we have an option for you at The Resort & Club at Little Harbor. Relax and enjoy our half mile stretch of secluded, white sandy beach. Take a dip in one of three heated pools and two Jacuzzi. Feeling competitive? Shoot hoops, play beach volleyball or play tennis on one of our five tennis courts. The entire family will enjoy themselves on our 250 foot fishing pier shuffleboard court horseshoe field or in our two fitness centers or enjoy our watersports including kayaks, jetskis, hydro bikes or paddleboards.Boaters arrive in paradise with deep-water access, 330 wet-slips, 220 high and dry slips, on-site fuel dock, bait and tackle store, fully stocked ship’s store, and boat trailer parking with near-by flats and deep sea fishing.Dine at one of two waterfront restaurants, The Sunset Grill or Sunset lounge and our beach-side Tiki Bar. Choose from a selection of steaks, sumptuous seafood, stacked sandwiches open seven days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner, with live entertainment outside on Friday Through Sunday evenings.The Resort & Club at Little Harbor offers a vast array of guest room accommodations perfect for individuals, couples, families and groups desiring a resort destination. Guest accommodations include our standard, deluxe and Junior Suites along with our brand new studio, one, two and three bedroom suites and town homes, all offering breathtaking water views of Tampa Bay or our marinas, harbor and nature preserves.All guest rooms have been completely renovated to provide you with the necessary conveniences to ensure your comfort. An iron and ironing board, hair dryer, coffee maker, microwave and mini refrigerator are standard items in every room. A spacious work desk area with ample lighting, direct dial telephones, free high-speed internet access, 32" flat screen color cable television with free premium channels. Individual climate control air conditioning and heating, private bathrooms with granite counter tops and private balconies or patios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your The Inn at Little Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resort And Club At Little Harbor
The Resort & Club At Little Harbor Hotel Ruskin
Hotel At Little Harbor
Resort At Little Harbor
Resort Club Little Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing