We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a hassel this place is! Not worth the frustration and money!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at Little Harbor
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ruskin
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We arrived on a Monday night after dinner and the lobby was very pretty. I expected to have to drive a long ways from the airport and knew it was sucluded. I had been informed that they were only at 30% capacity in the hotel so I asked nicely if they would be willing to upgrade us to the next room up. Only because we were going to be there for 12 days. We were spending a moderate amount of money with them. I wanted the one with a small kitchenette and a bit bigger for all 4 of us. Jennifer at the front desk was very nice about it. She looked and said that she would have to get her managers approval and she wasn't there till the morning. I said I would check back the next day. Long story short they opted not to upgrade me, sadly. I accepted it.
The first room was in building c. Smelly hall, old looking. The room was nice. a little cramped but I was willing to work with it. This room would have been sufficient but after a few days it wore on me. The closet door was broken so everytime I opened it I had to fight to close it. It was behind the door that left the room so it's not like I could have left it open. Also the plug behind the tv only had 1 working outlet. So if we wanted to watch tv or get on the laptop we had to get down and reach behind. The smell to was a bit overwhelming in the hall sometimes. So I called down to the front desk and they offered to move me.
The next day, so day 4 I think we switch in the morning. We were put in the main building on the 2nd floor facing the back pool. It was nice at first. The layout was just a bit different with the closet and kitchen. Still the same size. Everything seemed fine. Later after we had gone out for a few hrs we came back to the room. When I opened the door I smelt a faint smokey smell, cigs. I didn't think to much of it. And it was gone. Later that night bf bed I opened up the bathroom door and the bathroom smelled as if someone had been smoking right on the toilet. I almost yacked it smelled so strong. So I shut the door and looked around. No smell in the hall or outside. so I called down to the front desk and she said she would send security around to find the cause of the smell. I saw him walking down the hall and had him come in and take a smell. He was shocked! After they gave me some air freshener and the fan was on it went away. We went to bed and when I woke up in the morning it was aweful. I felt suffocated by the strong smell of smoke that now filled my room. It was only 6 in the morning, but I got up and went down to the desk in my pjs to change rooms asap. I waited till the kids got up and moved down the hall all the way to the end, now facing the tennis court.
And never leave anything in the room, you may not get it back again. My son accidentally left his new whale stuffed animal from sea world in the first room we were in. I went back a few hours after we had changed the room that first time and the room had already been cleaned. They said it wasn't in the lost and found so I thought the maid had stolen it, and I was upset. They said they would let me know if it came up. Now when we were in our 3rd room, days later the maid just happen to come in and clean while we were there. I was talking to her about my stay and mentioned the whale stuffed animal and she said " I was the one who cleaned that room". "I put it in a clear bag and put it in the lost and found that same day I found it." So I got on the phone and called down and had them check and magically it was there. It had been there the WHOLE time! I swear! Thanks Crystal for putting it away safe!! And Jennifer for being great too!
The third room was ok, however the mini fridge had issues. It had a wall of ice in it and was dripping on the floor. The repair man came to fix it about a half an hour after we had gotten in the room. and he had to defrost it. In the mean time my milk and yogurt and other stuff in the fridge sat on the counter for about an hour and half. ERG! The rest of the stay wasn't so bad.
Manager Nancy with the accent, not so nice.
The water in the bay is not blue like in the pictures on the websight. It is a dingy brown. But it is still a beautiful view of st.pete and has a great pier. Also good for fishing!
The restraunt food is good. Not the best I have ever had. But it was a little pricey. The service there by Christopher and Zulema was great! Very on top of things and nice. The view and the tiki bar are really sweet! We also rented the kiacka and that was really fun. Hot, but fun!
Also most of the staff at the hotel doesn't smile. They aren't really rude, but not really friendly either.

Room Tip: Get something better than delux if you stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nuttymeg88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (722)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

608 - 614 of 722 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2011

I stayed here twice in the month of May; a few days at the beginning of the month and a week at the end of the month. I love this place! If you are looking for a quiet place to get away this it is. If you are looking for a "party" resort this is not it. Resort is approx. 45 minutes south of Tampa. Like I said it is a quiet resort, even the children vacationing with there families wer the most well behaved children I've encountered in a long time.Rooms are very nice, especially the one I had on the 2nd floor on my second visit. Staff is very friendly. Called front desk to report a blown light bulb in my room, maintenance was there within minutes. I will stay here any time I'm in the Ruskin, FL area

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4Sunshine2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Flew into Tampa Int'l airport, it's about a 45 minute ride. Call the hotel, they have a discout code you can use for supershuttle and a limo service. The town (Gibsonton) you go thru to get to the resort leaves a lot to be desired but once you get there it was nice. Front desk staff was fine. Room had a microwave and refrigerator, TV had 112 channels to include HBO, Showtime, Starz, Encore. My complaint is the noisy air conditioning unit and the full size bed. Saw a few odd looking bugs nothing overwhelming: if they sprayed or put sticky tape down would take care of it. Two pools, the one closest to the front was small but quiet. The other pool was larger and tended to have more 'tipsy' people. Our room faced the marina saw manatees in the afternoon< pretty cool. The restaurant staff was great (Rolando and Stephanie especially), older crowd not a lot of teenagers. The entertainment on Sat and Sun evening was pretty good. The few children I saw were well behaved and well mannered. Catch the Sunday breakfast, best I have seen for the price. The same menu is served in all 3 restaurant locations, just depends on the atmosphere you want (tiki,sports, sit-down). We were there 2 full days but could see where the menu would get old really fast. There is nothing in walking distance so will need a car to get variety. Exceptional sunset behind across the bay behind St. Petersburg. It is a private beach but a portion is for public use. Get there early if you want lounge chairs and to rent an umbrella. Can also rent jetskis, kayaks, surf boards. As for the beach, it is rough to walk on but great to walk along and collect seashells. Water was cool not cold in the mornings but actually very warm by afternoon. Not unusual to see fish flying up out of the water.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor (of 2) but not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loverfrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

We arrived at around 7:30pm on a Sunday evening. After drining for miles through not much of anything, we finally found the "resort" (and I use that word tentatively). There is nothing for miles - no amenaties, restaurants, nothing.

To cut a very long story short, we checked in and checked out 10 minutes later. There was more life in the bottom of the fridge than in the surrounding area! So with a dirty kitchen, floors and brown marks on the sheets we took our leave without a second glance.

Strong recommendation - DO NOT STAY!!!

I must say though, that Trip Advisor were very accomodating and helpful - thank you.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere...like the Sheraton Hotels!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Buzz24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Booked through the "Resort at Little Harbor" website and was really looking for to our stay there. The website photos and write up were unfortunately much better than the reality. Not to say the place was a disaster but it did not meet our expectations. We booked a Harbor Side Condo which was nice enough apart from the air con being quite noisey (equipment in one of the kitchen cupboards) and there was no safe in the room, although believe they are being fitted in the near future. The pool was shared by all the harbor side condos and hence was very busy and quiet noisey at times. The pool area was also quite dirty with cigarette ends and generally not very well kept which was quite suprising as it appeared they were still doing sales tours for prospective buyers.
The on site restaurants were a bit disappointing, all 3 having the same menu although the meals we had there were quite good. The Tikki bar seemed to have a good atmosphere but looked scruffy with cheap tables & chairs. It could have been so much better without losing it's buzz. The Sunset Lounge which is the bar/restaurant, was what you would expect from the a typical bar/diner. What really disappointed was the Sunset Grill restaurant. Besides the same menu as the others it was also very down market with regards to it's decoration and had nothing to lift it above the other 2 dining areas. Should really have had a different menu and have been better appointed than it was. The good thing from all three was the amazing views of the sun setting over Tampa in the evenings!
The location of the resort is quite remote and we didn't find anything in the area if you wanted to try eating away from there. There may be some, we just did not find them.
All in all not a bad place but with a little more effort and thought, could be so much better.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MillsJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We stayed in a 3 bedroom/2 1/2 bath townhome for $200 per night, which included the cleaning fee! It was beautifully decorated & very clean. There were flat screen TV's in the LR and every bedroom! Everything you needed was onsite, even a washer & dryer. You have a beautiful view of the sunset over the bay from your balconies & there are 4 of them (some are in the front, but you still have a nice view). Very good food at the onsite restaurant, & the presentation was very nice. 3 pools & 2 spas on the property, which are kept up very well & the landscaping is beautiful. Looking forward to my return!

Room Tip: Found my rental on FlipKey
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank SweetT125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We spent the first 2 nights of our honeymoon here. Very comfortable suite with well stocked kitchen and bath. reasonably priced ,within walking distance to the beach, tiki bar and located right on the marina. There are 2 sections to this resort, hotel and Inn. Rooms in both places are tastefully decorated. Only down side is you need to shop for your food as it is a 10-15 min drive to the grocery store and hotel restaurant isn't always open. They do have coffee pot, refrigerator and hotplate in room. Not much storage space was the only downside.

Room Tip: Check out Orbitz, Travelocity for best rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freespirit57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruskin
0.2 mi away
Harborside Suites at Little Harbor
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Sun City Center
137 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa / Riverview / Brandon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#11 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
167 reviews
17.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tampa Brandon
1.5 mi away
Pirates Pointe Resort
Pirates Pointe Resort
#3 of 4 in Ruskin
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Little Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Little Harbor

Address: 611 Destiny Dr, Ruskin, FL 33570-3019 (Formerly The Resort & Club at Little Harbor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ruskin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ruskin
Price Range: $93 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Little Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your Caribbean-style island resort on the South Shore of Tampa Bay - The Resort & Club at Little Harbor. This unique resort and residential village provides a harmonious blend of Anglo-Caribbean architecture, lush tropical landscaping, island style hospitality and the natural wonders of a waterfront resort.Conveniently secluded between Tampa and Sarasota, The Resort & Club at Little Harbor is a full-service, AAA Travel Guide, three-diamond, resort hotel and conference center situated on 124 acres, completely surrounded by the tranquil waters of our harbors, marinas and Tampa Bay. No matter how you choose to spend your time, we have an option for you at The Resort & Club at Little Harbor. Relax and enjoy our half mile stretch of secluded, white sandy beach. Take a dip in one of three heated pools and two Jacuzzi. Feeling competitive? Shoot hoops, play beach volleyball or play tennis on one of our five tennis courts. The entire family will enjoy themselves on our 250 foot fishing pier shuffleboard court horseshoe field or in our two fitness centers or enjoy our watersports including kayaks, jetskis, hydro bikes or paddleboards.Boaters arrive in paradise with deep-water access, 330 wet-slips, 220 high and dry slips, on-site fuel dock, bait and tackle store, fully stocked ship’s store, and boat trailer parking with near-by flats and deep sea fishing.Dine at one of two waterfront restaurants, The Sunset Grill or Sunset lounge and our beach-side Tiki Bar. Choose from a selection of steaks, sumptuous seafood, stacked sandwiches open seven days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner, with live entertainment outside on Friday Through Sunday evenings.The Resort & Club at Little Harbor offers a vast array of guest room accommodations perfect for individuals, couples, families and groups desiring a resort destination. Guest accommodations include our standard, deluxe and Junior Suites along with our brand new studio, one, two and three bedroom suites and town homes, all offering breathtaking water views of Tampa Bay or our marinas, harbor and nature preserves.All guest rooms have been completely renovated to provide you with the necessary conveniences to ensure your comfort. An iron and ironing board, hair dryer, coffee maker, microwave and mini refrigerator are standard items in every room. A spacious work desk area with ample lighting, direct dial telephones, free high-speed internet access, 32" flat screen color cable television with free premium channels. Individual climate control air conditioning and heating, private bathrooms with granite counter tops and private balconies or patios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Little Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resort And Club At Little Harbor
The Resort & Club At Little Harbor Hotel Ruskin
Hotel At Little Harbor
Resort At Little Harbor
Resort Club Little Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing