We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed/ wanted !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Little Harbor
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ruskin
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Have seen some negatives about the resort and wonder if I am not as picky or they are looking for negatives. Isolated- yes if you consider an island type atmosphere with well marked streets going to and through it. Dirty? Even the beach sand was hand raked daily during our stay. Plenty of staff - working, not just standing around- were to be found at all times for any questions or needs we had. Food at the restaurant was fresh, tasty and reasonably priced. Atmosphere at the Tiki bar was enjoyable experience for us, but for those who like the elbow-room-only, Tampa is only a 30 minute drive. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay- to the point of considering a condo purchase.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdc5445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

617 - 623 of 726 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2011

Positives:
1. Nice beach but there are many fish and non-stinging jellyfish that like to swim and touch you.
2. Beautiful sunsets
3. Free parking

Negatives:
1. You need a car to get anywhere or you are stranded on the resort and sometimes that really limits your food selection. We had a car and were grateful. Apparently, getting a cab to and from the airport was just as much as renting a car (~$70 one way) plus we had the convenience to shop for groceries.
2. There are only about 2.5 dozen lounge chairs so you had to be at the beach by 10:30am or you had to wait for one.
3. The umbrellas are an extra $20/day
4. Don't go during "Lovebug" season! Apparently the lovebug spawn twice a year. They don't bite but there are swarms of them and they just fly around you and stick on you, kinda grossed me out.
5. We had a COCKROACH and a lizard in our unit. No one seemed to care... we just got the response, "It's because the storm."

Overall:
It was an ok place to stay if you wanted to just relax and hang out at the beach. We're not dying to go back but we did enjoy our stay despite the negatives. If you have rollerblades, bring them. It was nice to check out the whole property and the roads were smooth, flat and not busy, we went rollerblading every morning.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C0nfussed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

This place was awful. I went here for a nice vacation with a friend, and instead got a long list of problems. First off, this place is beyond isolated. If you don't have a car, you are literally stranded. There is no where to walk, and they will not send a cab to come get you. Our room flooded because of the storm, and the hotel was less than concerned with the wet carpet and the lack of towels we had. They advertise 4 restaurants, but fail to mention that each restaurant has the same exact menu. They also advertise a lounge chair, table, and umbrella to use on the beach; however, they only had 20 chairs and 3 umbrellas to use. Then, we went to eat outside, and was told that it was a 2 1/2 hour wait because it is open to the public. At the end of our trip, we complained about these problems, along with others along the way. The manager, Christine, told us that we would be refunded for 1 night's stay. When Travelocity called to confirm this, and give us our refund, the hotel denied it. So, along with the lack in concern for the well- being of their customers and false advertising, they lie as well. If you want a nice vacation, do not stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dau27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Hi,

This is our second time here in a year and I noticed that they have added more water sports equipment which is great though it is a little pricey. The kayaking and water bikes should be no charge. They have a beautiful beach right on Tampa Bay. A neat Tiki Bar just sets the vacation mood and the landscaping is beautiful. There is a large area of bare ground that could be used as a put, put golf that would set well with this resort.
The condos at Harborside are lovely, modern, (very pleasant to be in ), clean, very well lighted (many windows, balconies and very spacious in size. I do miss a store with touristy things (even though we live in Florida) a store just seems to finish a resort.
The beautiful marina makes you want to have a boat. We would have loved to rent a boat however that is costly. There is a huge NEGATIVE at this resort, the restaurant. The buffet forget it not worth if its free, limited selection, FOOD COLD. SUGGESTION KEEP FOOD HOT AND ALLOW PATRONS TO ORDER THEIR EGG DISHES AS THEY DESIRE SO THAT IT IS FRESH AND HOT. We went grocery shopping and cooked.
We will return.

Room Tip: Rent one of the condos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladykathleen68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

My husband and I are in our 50's. We were in search of an affordable place on the water. We stayed in the Executive Suite which was located two buildings down from the check in office. We were in building C, room 402. Our suite was VERY large. Nice size livingroom and bedroom. Our private balcony was about 30-35 ft. long with one door off the livingroom and one off the bedroom. The view was absolutely beautiful. You are not right on the water but accross the street from it. The only thing I did not like was we did not have a shower on a big jacuzzi tub which would have been fine for a weekend but we stayed 7 nights. The furniture in the livingroom needs updated but other than that it was really comfortable and spacious. The food at the Sunset Grill was very good and moderately priced. All the dining areas are connected with the same menu. The Tiki Bar is fun and has very good entertainment Thursday through Sunday. There is a firepit right behind the tiki bar that is right on the beach. The staff fires it up every night. Very relaxing to have cocktails around the fire if you feel like sitting in a quiet area. There is also a pier for fishing right there also. Our suite was about a block down from the Sunset Grill and Tiki Bar. Great location so you can walk to everything. The staff treated us very well!! They do not bother you at all but if you have any complaints they will make it right. This is not a huge resort like in Cancun, this is a big complex but you only see people if you want to. Very quiet! It was 85 degrees and there are 2 small pools very close a building or two over from our suite, neither was busy. Most days we had it all to ourselves. The place could use some maintenance like paint but over all it was clean and I did not see ANY bugs, not even an ant in our suite. The last thing I want to say is you do have to travel at least a 1/2 hour to go anywhere for site seeing. The Little Harbor does have a small private beach with jet ski rentals and sail boat rentals. It was okay but if you want a high action beach (if you are younger) Clearwater is really nice. It was packed with college kids so we did not stay. Clearwater is about an hour away but much nicer than the Tampa or St. Petersburg areas. If you like big cats, The Big Cat Rescue is pretty cool to tour for $25.00 each. That is in Tampa. The St. Pete Pier is also nice to visit. Over all it was a great week, relaxing, beautiful scenery, good food and a decent price. We booked our entire trip through Expedia.com. Thanks Little Harbor for letting us make some memories! Jim and Kathy Canton, OH.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kat-Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

The resort is nice. We stayed in a studio unit in the condos. It was newley renovated and just perfect size for my husband and I. It had a nice little kitchen which was enough for us if we were interested in cooking but we were on vacation so we went out every chance we could get. If I were to complain about anything it would be our balcony was a joke but there were plenty of places on the back side of the condos to enjoy the senery and watch the sunset. My only other complaint was the bed was not as comfortable as my own but depending on the hotel you could run into that anywhere. The resort property was great. At night they had a fireplace going by the pool which was relaxing to sit by and have a few drinks. The pool was not huge but I did not see a lot of kids at this resort so I think it was fine for those staying here. There is a really nice marina, a decent beach and a nice Tiki Bar by the restaurant. I saw complaints about the beach but for a beach on the BAY I think it was decent. I'm from a bay area so I was not expecting more. Overall I really enjoyed the resort and would go back. It was a perfect getaway for my husband and I. A few things about the area.... you will need to drive a bit. There are only a few places to really eat in Ruskin.... one would be the resort restaurant, the Fish House (which is great for lunch) and Popi's place (great for breakfast). Beaches I would recommend... Venice Beach, Anna Marie Beach (this is def a hidden treasure). You will feel like you are in the caribbean. Restaurants to go to Beachhouse in Bradenton Beach, Sandbar in Anna Marie Beach, Circles in Appollo Beach and Twin Dolphin in Bradenton. Great Place to have drinks.... Sharkey's in Venice Beach. These places were all recommended to me and I can't complain about any of them. The weather was great this time of year too!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missy20639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Let me start by saying, we have stayed many places and have a pretty high tolerance. However, this place was very dirty and we found a cockroach in the kitchen. We did complain about the floor being dirty and housekeeping came pretty quickly to mop, but it was still sticky even after they left. I agree with the reviewer who said there is nothing to do near by. We stayed to visit Eckerd College in St. Pete, which was about 30 minutes away. The beach sunsets were nice.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rissajason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruskin
0.2 mi away
Harborside Suites at Little Harbor
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Sun City Center
137 reviews
14 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Riverfront - Ellenton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa / Riverview / Brandon
16.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa/Brandon
22.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Little Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Little Harbor

Address: 611 Destiny Dr, Ruskin, FL 33570-3019 (Formerly The Resort & Club at Little Harbor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ruskin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ruskin
Price Range: $94 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Little Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your Caribbean-style island resort on the South Shore of Tampa Bay - The Resort & Club at Little Harbor. This unique resort and residential village provides a harmonious blend of Anglo-Caribbean architecture, lush tropical landscaping, island style hospitality and the natural wonders of a waterfront resort.Conveniently secluded between Tampa and Sarasota, The Resort & Club at Little Harbor is a full-service, AAA Travel Guide, three-diamond, resort hotel and conference center situated on 124 acres, completely surrounded by the tranquil waters of our harbors, marinas and Tampa Bay. No matter how you choose to spend your time, we have an option for you at The Resort & Club at Little Harbor. Relax and enjoy our half mile stretch of secluded, white sandy beach. Take a dip in one of three heated pools and two Jacuzzi. Feeling competitive? Shoot hoops, play beach volleyball or play tennis on one of our five tennis courts. The entire family will enjoy themselves on our 250 foot fishing pier shuffleboard court horseshoe field or in our two fitness centers or enjoy our watersports including kayaks, jetskis, hydro bikes or paddleboards.Boaters arrive in paradise with deep-water access, 330 wet-slips, 220 high and dry slips, on-site fuel dock, bait and tackle store, fully stocked ship’s store, and boat trailer parking with near-by flats and deep sea fishing.Dine at one of two waterfront restaurants, The Sunset Grill or Sunset lounge and our beach-side Tiki Bar. Choose from a selection of steaks, sumptuous seafood, stacked sandwiches open seven days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner, with live entertainment outside on Friday Through Sunday evenings.The Resort & Club at Little Harbor offers a vast array of guest room accommodations perfect for individuals, couples, families and groups desiring a resort destination. Guest accommodations include our standard, deluxe and Junior Suites along with our brand new studio, one, two and three bedroom suites and town homes, all offering breathtaking water views of Tampa Bay or our marinas, harbor and nature preserves.All guest rooms have been completely renovated to provide you with the necessary conveniences to ensure your comfort. An iron and ironing board, hair dryer, coffee maker, microwave and mini refrigerator are standard items in every room. A spacious work desk area with ample lighting, direct dial telephones, free high-speed internet access, 32" flat screen color cable television with free premium channels. Individual climate control air conditioning and heating, private bathrooms with granite counter tops and private balconies or patios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Little Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resort And Club At Little Harbor
The Resort & Club At Little Harbor Hotel Ruskin
Hotel At Little Harbor
Resort At Little Harbor
Resort Club Little Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing