We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A very relaxing place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pirates Pointe Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pirates Pointe Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ruskin
Certificate of Excellence
Pinellas Park, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A very relaxing place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The owner and staff were great in recommending places to fish and eat. We stayed in a studio which had a "Murphy Bed". This made for a large space in the room during the day. While on property you felt you were in the wilderness.

The fishing from the dock was great, especially in the evening.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    17
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
22
39
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We found this gem through Living Social and are soooo happy we did. Who would expect to find a get-away of this caliber in Ruskin only 45 minutes from our home? It felt like we'd escaped to the Keys or someplace tropical. The cabins are roomy and beautiful appointed. We had a private patio in the back with table and chairs and umbrella. There was a cute front porch with a bench and hanging plants - in fact, I've seldom been anywhere with more beautiful, lush landscaping. The pool was made for splashing about or just lying in a lounge chair with a cocktail. The entire place was immaculate, and the owner Jonathan couldn't be any friendlier or more helpful. Great docks and easy access to the river and Tampa Bay. We took one of the guided fishing trips and couldn't believe the number and variety of fish we caught. It made a great dinner one night. We will definitely go back and are recommending to all of our friends - fishermen or not, this is such a fun place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Instead of staying at an unpleasant chain motel when visiting an elderly relative in the area, I go to Pirate's Pointe. This time I discovered there was a Labor Day weekend BBQ! Former chef and owner Jonathan prepared a fantastic spread for his guests. Sunsets over the river were lovely, and the pool was just the right temperature. This place is an oasis! Charming cottages and lush landscaping add to the ambiance. Nearby are decent restaurants--open air Fish House and tiki bar at Little Harbor. Don't be deterred by the dismal Sun City area--Pirate's Pointe is perfect!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patsyt914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We discovered Pirate's Point Resort through LivingSocial. What a find, and only an hour from home. We usually fish upper Tampa Bay, so it was nice to discover a similar area so close to home. We are anxious to learn more about the area and plan to return as often as possible.

Jon is a wonderful host and was great about directing us to his favorite bait and fishing locations. We caught two monster redfish (too big to keep) and a four foot tarpon, as well as trout, alligator gars and catfish.

The cottages and grounds are very Key Westy! The cottages are very well appointed and very clean. Don't recommend the efficiencies with the murphy beds, though. We will definitely opt for the one bedroom next time!!

Although we didn't have time to enjoy the swimming pool, the area is very inviting. The boat dock is very nice, as well as the deck around it. The resort would be a great spot for friends to gather and party!!

We will definitely return!!

Room Tip: We would definitely recommend any of the rooms, except the efficiencies with the murphy beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roxane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We booked this through living social and we will definitely come back. My husband brought his boat and had fun taking it out. The boat dock is so convenient and the house we rented totally awesome and roomy.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leisha_fee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cowgirl67
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

What a treasure we found in Pirate's Pointe Resort! Jonathan was such an amazing host, so accommodating and willing to assist in any way. Only an hour from home but we felt like we were in the Keys. The landscaping is so impressive and our room was very clean and inviting. This must be what Old Florida use to be back in the day!! We caught our limit of redfish every day and even got to enjoy a Little Manatee River sunset. We will definitely be back in the Fall, except this time we plan to stay longer!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cowgirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBary, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Thank You Pirates Point Resort, we thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to this beautiful little place! We had a great time fishing the flats, & caught our limit of slot red-drum the first afternoon!! =) Wonderful friendly staff and everything you need for a relaxing weekend of fishing & relaxing by the pool. Loved the rooms, they were very clean and accommodating. We are already planning our next visit. Thanks again for the lovely memories!! =)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruskin
1.4 mi away
Harborside Suites
Harborside Suites
#2 of 5 in Ruskin
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Sun City Center
3.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
14.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa / Riverview / Brandon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#59 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 1,220 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bradenton Downtown Historic District
17.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa/Brandon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirates Pointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirates Pointe Resort

Property: Pirates Pointe Resort
Address: 1800 Kofresi Ct, Ruskin, FL 33570-2924
Location: United States > Florida > Ruskin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ruskin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pirates Pointe Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pirate’s Pointe Fishing Resort is situated on 2 acres on the Little Manatee River and just minutes to the beautiful open waters of Tampa Bay and the Gulf of Mexico. This exclusive 14 unit resort has been completely renovated in a manner that we are confident you will agree has transformed this community into THE premier fishing destination in the Tampa Bay area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Pirates Pointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pirates Pointe Hotel Ruskin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing