We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“big disappointment”

Sakura Restaraunt Fl
Ranked #71 of 134 Restaurants in Riverview
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Brandon, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“big disappointment”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

a friend had suggested Sakura to me and my husband. she claimed the food was amazing and the yummy yummy sauce was better then our local favorite hibachi place.
we went for dinner on a Saturday and sat in the sushi dining room. We were seated right away but we waited for a while til someone took our drink order.finally someone same over- i ordered a sweet tea- first she brought water then she brought out unsweetened tea. we then waited a long time for our waitress to take our dinner order. she was very short with us and proceeded to have another conversation with another employee in a different language in the middle of our order. she walked away with out saying anything, good thing we finished our order before we were rudely interrupted.
we watched some of the sushi go by to other tables as we waited- not impressed.
we ordered the tuna tataki for an app which was decent but not worth the price for the amount of tuna. we ordered the hibachi dinner for two which was a good deal- steak,shimp, scallops and lobster plus all the extra rice and noodles and veggies soup and salad for 45$
the salad was over dressed and was very sweet. the soup tasted like sewage water- i didn't even finish mine it was so bad. then the main coarse came out. it was a decent amount of food. they left the dirty looking small lobster tail cut in half with no meat in it on top of the plate for garnish? i later found lobster shell particles in my food- i thought i broke a tooth when i bit it. the lobster was over cooked. the chicken was tiny, hard, over cooked pieces. the over all meal tasted more like Chinese take out then Japanese hibachi. there were a few things that tasted okay but over all it was not good, not worth the price and we wont go back based solely on the food quality. not to mention the waitress and her lack of people skills.
And to top it off the yummy yummy sauce was soo sweet it wasn't enjoyable. ew.

we will stick with our local favorite that knows how to make great food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place for a Friday night dinner”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I have been here a few times since it has opened. We enjoy sitting at the sushi bar. The workers are all so friendly and the atmosphere is so laid back that you really don't want to leave. The prices aren't bad either.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank starjem66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Is it Sakura or Senior Frogs in Nassau? Management please take note!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We love Japanese restaurants and finally had the time to check this new (local) place out over the weekend. It was simply my Wife and I on a Saturday late afternoon around 6:30. The restaurant had a lively crowd which was nice to see, but we had to wait a few minutes for others to arrive so we could fill a table around the Hibachi grill. The service was swift and friendly. Once sat, we waited a few additional minutes for a couple of additional customers to full up vacant seats. While we waited, we watched a young chef prepare the food at the adjacent table. He was very entertaining and had that table, including children, all smiles. As he left, I asked if he could be our grill master, which he acknowledged.
He did not waste time as he quickly returned with our menu and started his (act?), which everyone on our table was excited about. A young gentleman, he was very good with his grilling skills, which we all love to watch.
This is where his act crossed over to something most of us at the table did not appreciate (as we were not on a cruise ship) and I hope management will notice and correct. First he brought out Bok Choy and cut it to small pieces. Then he proceeds to fling each small piece into the face of each patron so they could try to catch it in their mouth. We felt this would be funny with small children but we had adults at our table. He kept flinging pieces at each of us until it was all gone. In my case, he flung 4 or 5 pieces, which I couldn't catch in my mouth. Please, ONE TIME would be plenty and he didn't have to keep flinging pieces at me or any other patron at the table. We all felt foolish. This might be something children would love, but please, give us a break!
Once we had passed this nonsense, he pulled out a squirt bottle loaded with Sake and started squirting this in everyone’s mouth even though some people waved him off. It was about this time I wanted to jump up and grab this little dude and take the bottle away but my Wife cooled me off.
Little chef dude, make this a good experience, not some kind of “party”. We’re here to eat, enjoy the show but not to get drunk and become slobs like one would expect at Senior Frogs in Nassau.
The service is great. The food and the preparation is great. The pricing is fabulous (much better that the large chains), but this particular master needs to head over to Senior Frogs in Nassau where you expect a squirt bottle with booze. ENOUGH OF THIS NONSENSE! None of the other preparers, that we could see, were doing anything similar to this little dude. If you happen to get him, you've been warned. That is, unless you like to have Sake dribbled all over your chin, neck and shirt and find he won’t stop. You know: Ha Ha! Please stop! Enough!
Enjoy, but you've been warned.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank runner24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Good food and a good time. Watching the chef is a real treat and lots of fun trying to catch food or sake. Will go back again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fast E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Sushi around...”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The sushi at this place has been good since the day it opened. We eat hear at least twice a month. Before this place opened we would drive to Origami Sushi in Tampa (quite a hike). We think Sakura is better.

My wife is Asian and years ago used to work at Butterfly Sushi in Chicago (look it up and see they are rated as excellent). We both agree that Sakura is on par with Butterfly too.

Since we like to maximize value, we typically go at lunch time or their evening happy hour.

Sakura doesn't use tons of rice like other places on their Sushi roles.

We have only tried the hibachi grill once, it was the same as everywhere else. We go for the sushi.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura Restaraunt Fl also viewed

 

Been to Sakura Restaraunt Fl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing