We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Rooms At A Reasonable Price”
Review of The Hotel Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel Sol
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Redington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Blandon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
134 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice Rooms At A Reasonable Price”
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Actually stayed here for three nights in January of 2010 (when I went to post this, Tripadvisor would not let us go back that far). Had a great time, even though we were there during the coldest stretch of weather Florida had seen in over 20 years. Unlike some of the other posts listed here, we had no trouble with any of the staff, and were treated nicely each time we had to interact with them. The front desk is not staffed 24 hours a day like some hotels, but it did not cause us any issues. Rooms were very clean and beds were comfortable. Unfortuantely, due to the extreme cold, we did not get to enjoy the beach or pool, so I cannot comment on those items. The view of the gulf was beautiful from our deck though. We did enjoy the Clearwater Aquarium, John's Pass Shopping Center, and many nice restaurants during our stay. Would stay at this hotel and in this area again without thinking twice.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaceTrackHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    138
    47
    9
    28
See reviews for
130
184
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2011

My fiancé and I stayed at hotel isis this past weekend, and were thrilled from the moment we drove up and saw the quaint, boutique hotel. We are from the Tampa bay area, and were wanting a quick, relaxing and romantic getaway on a budget-- and it was perfect! It's right on the beach, steps from the pier. The hotel has great hammocks right on the beach were you can watch the sun go down and let your feet dangle in the sand. The hotel is located on the trolley route, so if you don't feel like driving, you can take it south to st. Johns pass which is teeming with fun boutique shops and rich local culture. Or if you would like to walk, there are 2 amazing seafood restaurants within 5 minutes walking distance. Overall, it was one of the best trips we have had in a while. Relaxing and rooms are spacious. Looked modern and up to date... With a comfy Feathered bed.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarabls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewBrunswick
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

We stayed for 5 days in March 2010. It is a one story hotel all on ground level surrounding a central courtyard
where the pool and seating ares are located. The rooms are small but comfortable and quiet. There is a fridge, microwave, coffee maker and a sink with cupboard space in each room. The room I shared with my husband had a king size bed. The friends we went with got a room with 2 double beds. You have your choice.
The courtyard is amazing and well looked after. The entire hotel was re-done last year so all the rooms are fresh with modern decor. I have attached the link to their website and everything you see in the pictures is true and even more beautiful when you actually see it.
I would highly recommend this hotel for a peaceful relaxing getaway.
http://www.isisbeachhotel.com/

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunLoverNewBrunswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey,CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2010

We booked for two nights. Our flight was scheduled to arrive in the early afternoon. Unfortunately we experienced a delay which set our arrival time at 9PM. The late check-in policy published on Expedia and on the Hotel’s site specifically requests guests arriving after 10PM to call (not drive by) the hotel to arrange for late check-in. We tried to call in the afternoon before boarding and several times upon landing at the airport. A machine answered introducing a voicemail box which was actually not available, so we were not able to leave a message. We asked the central reservation kiosk at the airport if they had an alternative phone number which they didn’t have. Nevertheless they also tried to call for us, getting the same answering system. We finally contacted Expedia who also tried to call with no answer. Meanwhile it was 10PM and even the answering machine no longer picked up. Following the suggestion of the Expedia Customer Service Representative we spent the night in another hotel at our cost. Expedia expected the Hotel to refund us for the missed night. They recommended we call them early the next morning to allow them to contact the hotel Management themselves and find out if our reservation was cancelled, or if we had to stay the second night. The Management refused to refund us for the missed night and requested we spend the second night at the Hotel. Expedia offered us a $50 coupon for our inconvenience which barely covered half of the one night charge.
When we arrived at the Isis, we were “welcomed” by Sam, the Front Office Manager. At this point we didn’t expect much; an apology for the misunderstanding, an upgrade to a better room…anything that would show appreciation for our business. Instead Sam laughed at us (really, he laughed at us!), blaming US for the incident! He said we should have just showed up at the hotel after hour, saying “the key was here, the room was ready, and you were not there”. When we pointed out that we followed their instructions and respected the Hotel’s policy, he turned very rude and arrogant. He showed us a note they apparently scotch tape to the main gate at night instructing guests to call a different phone number which was listed on neither the Expedia, nor the Hotel’s website. His excuse for not answering the phone the prior afternoon and evening was that they had a wedding reception and no time to sit by the phone. He dismissed us explaining he didn’t owe us any refund because we didn’t book directly with the hotel and that we should have expected Expedia to refund our money, not the Isis. So we spent hours talking to Expedia Supervisors and Sam; once we figured out that they were just blaming each other we decided to enjoy the few hours we had left in Tampa…to this day we have no news from Expedia or the Isis.

In addition to the complete lack of Customer Service, the Isis is just a Boutique Hotel wannabe…
You really pay for the location; other comparables hotels in the area charge less for the same beach front. The rooms are very small and you have to walk over your luggage in order to get around since the closet doesn’t accommodate it. There are no drawers to place your folded clothes. The bath doesn’t have a tub which makes bathtime for smaller children very difficult; definitely not family friendly.
The pedestal sink had no room for basic toiletries. There’s not even a shelf to rest your toothbrush. Our toiletries had to stay on the floor. There’s no hairdryer, but that doesn’t matter, since there’s no space in the bathroom to brush your hair anyways…… The small kitchen has sink, microwave and small fridge, but no utensils... There are two windows, one overlooking the wall of the adjacent building and the other facing the hallway and pool; you basically have no view no privacy and no natural light. Yet when darkness is needed you have to hang towels over windows and door; the door has a 12”x12” decorative glass panel at the top which looks nice, but lets the bright hallway lights into the room… all night. Our headboard was not connected to the bed frame causing it to bang against the wall every time you turn around. The swimming pool is not heated. While we were walking the grounds we noticed that Housekeeping was washing the trashcans using the beach shower dumping the dirty water in the sand where kids play. Please refer to our pictures for further details.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vurt69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

room was crummy. Not what I would expect for $155. per night. This place has a great beach location and a very nice pool area. Room - not so great. There was a partial kitchen in our room, but no towels or anything there in order to actually use the kitchen. Room was spacious. Air Conditioning would not stay on and our room never got below 82 degrees. They finally had us move all our stuff (not easy) to another room on the second night. I could hear the people in the next room talking as if they were in my room. Could hear every word spoken in a normal tone of voice and hear when they used the microwave. Nothing at all to set our luggage on except the floor or kitchen counter. TVs were nice. If you plan to go to the beach, you must definitely bring your own stuff (chairs, towels, umbrellas).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy2225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We didn't know what to expect, but Hotel Isis was AMAZING! The rooms were clean and comfortable. We walked out the door and were literally steps from the beach and pool. It was so relaxing and peaceful. It's very close to the pier. The location was nice too, right in between St. Pete and Clearwater Beach. The parking lot is small but you can park across the street. I wish we would have stayed there every night of our vacation! I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrystalARoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

It was nice to be able to walk out to the beach from our room. Very relaxing on the beach. However, people were smoking all around outside our room(on the patio) despite the "Please do not smoke signs." I am not sure what the hotel's policy was because despite the signs they (the hotel) put out ashtrays. I would recommend the second floor beach front. People would also stand right outside our room (some even peeked in). That is not really the hotel's fault though... that is people snooping. The room was nice and comfortable. It served our needs for the beach. We could have probably used a little more room for our beach items. We had some items break in our room while we stayed but they were fixed. Wi-fi did not work in our beachfront room. You have to go outside in the patio area. There is a great breakfast spot nearby (Kenny's Korner). I think I would look around for another hotel next time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smspgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redington Beach
3.6 mi away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
4.5 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Isles Resort
Holiday Isles Resort
#12 of 15 in Madeira Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater/Madeira Beach
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clear...
#2 of 4 in Indian Rocks Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.4 mi away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Sol

Property: The Hotel Sol
Address: 17566 Gulf Blvd., Redington Beach, FL 33708 (Formerly Hotel Isis)
Location: United States > Florida > Redington Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Redington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hotel Sol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Isis
Isis Hotel Redington Beach
The Hotel Sol Redington Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing