We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't leave early!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of McFarlin House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quincy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
McFarlin House
Ranked #1 of 4 Quincy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
1 review
“Don't leave early!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2008

Decided to leave earlier then planned. That morning told owner and checked out. When we got home noticed the charge was greater then expected and called owner.

Told us he had to charge for the last night because our room had a whirlpool.

Had he told us that when we advised them we were leaving we would have made a different decision and stayed.

  • Liked — convenience
  • Disliked — room arrangement
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CJM39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
54
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cody, Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2007

We spent four wonderful nights at the McFarlin Bed and Breakfast in Quincy, Florida. Our hosts were fabulous as usual and made us feel very welcome. The home has been restored in beautiful style with lots of special extras that you do not find in many other homes. Breakfast was delicious and always on time with friendly service. The rooms are elegant and cheerful with nice bathrooms and lots of light. I highly recommend this beautiful home to anyone traveling to the Tallahassee or Quincy area. Each time we go the hosts have done more to make it a very unique and beautiful home!

  • Liked — Nice rooms, beautiful, home, wonderful food and hosts
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DaisyCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2005

We have stayed at many B&Bs and small inns. The McFarlin House is a Victorian home that has been "restored" by the family who lives there. The restoration is not top notch - certainly not done by craftsmen. For the price, it is clean & nice. Don't expect it to be on a par with the Paxton House, Richmond Hill Inn, or Gastonian. The innkeeper spent considerable time telling us about how guests were "hard" on the home and how expensive the home is to maintain. The dining room had iron porch furniture to provide inexpensive and durable seating. Avoid the third floor which is decorated in Coca-cola paraphernalia and accessible via a very long and tall staircase. All lighting on the first floor and outdoor was turned off at dusk, and there was never ice in the ice machine during our visit.

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2004

My husband & I went here for our 6th Anniversary. We stayed in the Southern Grace room and had the most wonderful stay. Our room had a warm fireplace and a great big jacuzzi. The inn is so beautiful and welcoming. Although the inn was full, we barely knew it, because it was so peaceful and quiet. Richard, the innkeeper, was very nice and helpful with whatever we needed. There is a great courtesy room where we could get ice cold drinks, popcorn, or hot chocolate. There's a wonderful restaurant right down the road, where we ate supper, Nicholson Farmhouse. It was delicious and shared the same warm feeling as the McFarlin House. I would highly recommend this inn to anybody and hope to go again really soon. It's truly an unforgettable and relaxing experience that anyone would enjoy

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffin, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2003

I stayed at McFarlin House for three days in September 2003, I was in town for a training seminar. I hadn't stayed at a Bed and Breakfast in 10 years. I'm glad I did this time!Breakfast was WAY better than any 'free meal' in any motel. I forgot to ask what brand of coffee they serve, and I'm hard to please when it comes to coffee, but these people got it right.McFarlin is warm and friendly, and the interior decoration is a big part of this. If your travels allow, you should try a night or two at McFarlin House.

Helpful?
3 Thank CrossfirePizzaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quincy
17.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tallahassee North Hotel
20.0 mi away
Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
22.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tallahassee Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
Aloft Tallahassee Downtown
#14 of 58 in Tallahassee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Quincy
Hampton Inn Quincy
#1 of 2 in Quincy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
21.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tallahassee State Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McFarlin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McFarlin House

Property: McFarlin House
Address: 305 E King St, Quincy, FL 32351-2466
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Quincy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Quincy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing