We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mount Edge Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$114
$70
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BLS Wellness(Bull Bay)
$125
Orbitz.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
70
20
5
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
20
5
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue mountainsmount edgeguest housethe ownerplace to staylaid backmichael foxmy friendlove this placebeautiful settinganother guestcoffee farmkingstonrastaroadrobynviews
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 105 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2012

A friendly guesthouse in the mountains over Kingston. Rooms are fairly basic with corrugated roofs and open windows but pretty much all of them have great views of the surrounding valley. The main house is more substantial with a comfortable lounge and a fantastic terrace to sit out and look at the view. There's also a cafe with good food and a well stocked bar. The staff were friendly, helpful and characterful! The surrounding area is good for coffee tours and walking, and the locals are friendly with none of the hassle you might find in the more touristy parts of Jamaica.

One review says Mount Edge has a hostel feel, which I'd agree with but in a positive sense. It's definitely a place where you'll get talking to other guests and the staff. And whilst the rooms are basic this is reflected in the price. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in 'Adventure' and 'Gong'. Adventure is the cheapest room and to be honest feels a bit cell like. Gong is a double with a bathroom and was comfortable with a great view.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

This guest house is a dream, the view from the sea, a healthy and Varied food and very friendly and lovely staff.
The accommodations are comfortable and reasonably priced. Assistance with tours, attractions, taxi rides, etc. by Robin and Michael are excellent. I stay here for sure. Thank you for the wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonja E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Very private and scenic! The food was great.. all local and fresh ingredients..we loved it and can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 124AnnA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

My wife and stayed here in late February 2011, but I am just getting around to writing a review. Maybe it's because I was slightly traumatized by the experience...

Long story short, somehow this property has managed to make its way to #1 in the B&B category for Kingston. How they've done this is a mystery, but it's not deserved. The guesthouse is in a fantastic location and the views are indeed amazing, but our room was small and dirty, the sheets weren't clean, it was loud (the neighbors were chopping wood at 4:30 am), and we didn't have hot water for 3 days. They also claim to have a restaurant, but it's only open when someone feels like cooking food -- if there's no one there, you might just starve because there's nothing for miles around.

In all fairness, Michael (the owner) is a very, very nice guy and his employees are also great people, but this guesthouse is just a subpar hostel. They should adjust their prices accordingly, and reviewers should be honest enough to point this out. I think that many reviewers feel that they are helping Michael get things off the ground, but the service level and facilities just don't live up to the hype.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Pierre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Things just work at their own pace up here in the mountains. If you understand cottage culture, you can appreciate the simplicity of the accommodations - simple structures with corrugated metal roofs, gaps in the walls and stunning views! The walks are great and the food is super fresh. The restaurant can be quite busy on weekends, so if you want the most selection, arrive at your table earlier rather than later. Be sure to stop in at Mrs Twymann's while you're up here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews