We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"TERRIBLE, AWFUL, TERRIBLE"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Punta Gorda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"TERRIBLE, AWFUL, TERRIBLE"”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. We booked for 2 nights. A birthday getaway weekend......RUINED. we arrived Friday night only to be told by the front desk that Booking.com sold us a room that was not available. . But they would upgrade us to a suite... RM114....it looked like a storage room that was converted to a suite. The kitchen had no utensils, the refrigerator had a sealed box of something on the shelf and the inside was dirty. ..just gross. The light in the pantry could not he turned on unless you opened the refrigerator door. The living room and bedroom were one big room with a tv on a bureau in the middle of the room. The recliner was broken. . The light in the bedroom was broken and had no shade. The switch to turn the light on didn't work.

The blowdryer in the bathroom was broken. It was an awful room. ..will Never stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cancunvaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    143
    95
    61
    80
See reviews for
131
190
28
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Middleburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at this property for three nights (Wed - Fri) while attending a convention at the Convention Center across the street. Our room was a mini suite with King bed, desk, hide-a-bed couch, small refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, as well as a standard long dresser. Closet space wasn't much. The bath had two sinks, one in the closet area and one in the actual bath itself. It is obvious this hotel is being renovated, as there is construction everywhere, however, the hotel is old, and even though we were in a renovated room, it felt very antiquated. Our surprise introduction came when we first arrived and turned on the water in the lavatory. It was brown, and there was rusty, sandy sediment in the bottom of the sink. We tried the other sink and the shower with the same results. Needless to say, we immediately bought a case of bottled water! The sediment was finally gone after about a day. Perhaps part of the remoldeling and this room had not been used in a while, resulting in rust and sediment in the hot water lines??? Duty manager did suggest we change rooms, but had already unpacked and had settled in. Overall we found the staff to be courtious and helpful. The hotel filled up fast on Thursday due to the convention. The breakfast was good, but with all the guests, the one worker could not keep up with the number of people eating. Menu consisted of Belguim Waffles, asst cereals, scrambled eggs, sausage, asst muffins/rolls, bagals, coffee and juice. When available, everything was pretty good. This hotel is located in a good location with the conference center right across the street, as well as many very good resturants close by. Since there was so much construction did not walk the groungs or use the pool. I would probably stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

The location is great! It is an old hotel that is being renovated. In my opinion, they should lower rates during renovation, because it was not worth $109 per night. Everything smelled. (I'm guessing it's mold or mildew under the carpet.). We just needed a place to sleep for a night (before Pedal and Play in Paradise), so we could handle it. You definitely wouldn't want to stay for long, though. I wish them the best in renovating. The location is a winner!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Planned a special trip for my girlfriends birthday. Hotel sounded great. On the water, martini bar. NOT! Checked into a dirty room with no bedspreads. Ants running all over the bathroom counter. Opened the Fridge to find it dirty with moldy cheese in it. Called the front desk and asked to change rooms and was told not available. Promised someone would come clean our room. I went down to my car and as I was coming in I heard the manager Rebecca talking to the desk clerk" Don't give them a discount thye probably brought the cheese" Came back from dinner and 1 pack of cheese was gone but fridge still dirty, Ice machines on 2 floors out of order. When I checked out she refused to give me a reciept but I took a picture where it said NO Discount. I asked Rebecca who was her boss and she said she was the GM and the owners were not involved in the day to day operations. Thats obvious. Needless to say all this put a damper on what was to be a special weekend.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank daffygolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canfield, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in February 2013. We booked the more expensive room for the water view. The first set of keys did not work. Went back down to the desk and was given a second set, they did not work, went back down for a third set. Got in the room to find the only view of water was in the ground ruts made by the construction equipment. We complained and got moved to another 2nd floor room which smelled terrible of smoke and we could not stay with the smell. Went back down to the desk and got a room on the 1st floor and was told we would get the rate of a city side room, we did not! That room had a large TV right in the middle of the floor and the remote for theTV on the desk did not work. Went to the desk and was given another remote. Also did not work. Went back to the desk and told them to come and see if they could get it to work. After trying for 45 minutes to find a working remote and us telling them it probably needed programed they said maintenance would have to do that the next day. By now it is midnight and we are tired. Tired of trying to get service. Next morning tried to make coffee and the cord would not reach the outlet and there was no cream and sugar. Every time you needed someone they were outside smoking and there was no manager at night. Rebecca the day manager could not be contacted because she was busy taking her children to school or on the phone or in a meeting and she never returned any calls. On my credit card statement it was charged to the Best Western Hotel Chain, however when you call customer service at Best Western they stated it was no longer a Best Western Hotel and they could not help. WOULD NEVER STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shelly c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

CHecked in our room no bedspreads, moldy food in fridge bathroom crawling with ants. No knob on the shower and no lock on the door. Call front desk and asked for another room DENIED actually heard the managerRebecca tell the desk clerk we probably brought the moldy cheese so we could get a discount ( never asked for 1 just another room) Said they would send someone to clean while we were at dinner. Got spreads but room not cleaned. Called NO night manager on duty. In the am Rebecca said she is the GM and we could only complain to her. States owner had no input. WORST customer service I have ever had. Restarant and Bar CLOSED...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TBgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHOTEL, Manager at PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
To the readers reading this review...The property offer no excuses there were items that was overlooked in the refrigerator and there is no reason for that oversight....but to address the concern of the room move there was no rooms to move the guest to all reservation for that room type was already in house. the front desk agent that was sent to clean the room since housekeeping had already left had worked in housekeeping and had recently moved over to the front desk was denied access to the room and was told to service the room after 7pm that evening. At that time the front desk did service the room to the guest request. The property does not place comforts on the beds we triple sheet, we found most guest find that cleaner (fitted sheet, flat sheet, blanket or duvet and a third flat sheet) and any guest requesting a comforter one is available because most people are aware that comforters are not wash after every guest and most properties have started the triple sheeting. The conversation that was over heard was a private conversation that this guest was listening on the side of the wall the conversation was not held in the lobby and was meant to be private and on multiply occasion was apologized to the guest after being on numerous times that is guest would insulted threatened and would make a screaming screens in the lobby in front of other guest. The property offer a discount because we felt that was the best course of action since we could not move rooms and we did our best to accommodate this guest.
The property and myself does apologize for your experience here and does take responsible of the items left behind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Two couples checked in for an overnight stay. We understood the hotel was being renovated. However, we did not know that the restaurant and martini bar were closed and being renovated. That would have made us think twice about staying there because we like to have a restaurant in the hotel.
One of us had a nice room overlooking the water. The only problem with the nice room was that there were holes in the sheets. But the room was clean and dressed the way you would expect. The other room was completely different. When you walked into the room you saw no comforters on the bed. When a call was made to the front desk the couple were told that the rooms on that floor did not have comforters. Unacceptable! The weather was 40 degrees at night. Next problem, ants in the bathroom. When front desk called about that the couple were told that the place had been sprayed. Next problem, the couple found a package of cheese slices in the refrigerator left by the last occupant. The top slice was moldy and the refrigerator was dirty. This time the couple went to the front desk to complain. They were told that someone would go up and clean the refrigerator and the room for them. After coming back from dinner, the couple found the cheese package still in the refrigerator minus the moldy piece and the refrigerator still dirty. However, comforters were on the bed. Next problem, in order to turn on the shower, you had to use a facecloth to push in the metal piece in the tub because the knob was not there. If it had not been at 11:30 PM at this point the couple would have changed hotels. There was not night manager to talk to because they didn't have one. And all the front desk would say is the manager would have to be contacted in the morning. So the next morning the couple tried to talk to the manager and got nowhere with her. While having breakfast we observed the desk staff did not stay at their station but would wander off outside the front of the hotel to have a cigarette. Very unprofessional! We still do not know why we got two different experiences for the same trip. But it definitely will not make us want to stay there again. If this place is slated to be a Holiday Inn once the renovations are done, then the entire staff will have to go. I cannot imagine the Holiday Inn putting up with the kind of service we experienced.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evertraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
0.3 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
0.3 mi away
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
#2 of 7 in Punta Gorda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
3.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte
5.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
0.9 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#7 of 7 in Punta Gorda
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Property: PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Address: 300 W Retta Esplanade, Punta Gorda, FL 33950-3620
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Waterfront Hotel Punta Gorda
Best Western Hotel Waterfront
Best Western Punta Gorda
Punta Gorda Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing