We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's getting better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were in Punta Gorda to look at some property and stayed at PG Waterfront. Yes, it has problems, but it is under new management and they are trying. The previous owner, Best Western, had financial troubles and it showed in the neglect of the facility. The new owners are trying to improve the property and so far have done a fairly good job. But it is going to take time. The facility itself is weary, but the areas that we saw were clean as was our room. There were clean towels in the bathroom and shampoo and mouthwash (go figure! no conditioner!) The breakfast was okay, but could use some attention. Replenishment was a problem. The location was fabulous with the park and Charlotte Bay right outside the door. Easy in, easy out of the parking lot and quick access to Rte 41 N & S. Walking distance to several restaurants. This place could be a gold mine if it is managed and upgraded correctly.

Room Tip: Rooms with a water view cost more, but are well worth it. Magnificant sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dleschdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 526 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

We spent one night at the hotel recently when the air conditioning broke at our home. Sweaty and in desperate need of a shower we checked into the hotel around 10:00 p.m. The room smelled musty; had patches of carpet that didn't match the rest of the carpeting and was in need of help. Exhausted and tired, we decided to stay, take a shower and return home in the morning. The cold water faucet didn't work in the shower. We notified the front desk. By the time we had to check out the next day, our shower was still not fixed and we returned home without the shower we so desperately needed. Contacted the hotel the next day to speak with the manager, who offered no help and basically accused me of making up the story about the shower. She said she sent someone up to check the room after we checked out and everything was fine. I asked her why in the world would we say the shower didn't work if it was working? Wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. It's a shame as the location is beautiful but the hotel is horrible.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGHOTEL, Manager at PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

The entire staff strives always for guest satisfaction, we are disappointed that we failed this guest. In this case the guest requested a call back by management and with the intention of displaying genuine concern management contacted this guest to inform them that the shower issue was taken care of. It was not the intention of management to offend this guest although it was perceived that way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We visited in July as the PG convention center is across the street. This is no longer a Best Western so we took a chance that the property might have been improved. Wrong? Run down, dirty and in need of a complete renovation. There is a strong smell of mildew throughout the building. The beds are saggy, damp and have paper thin sheets. The internet is sporadic and there are very few TV stations. the front desk said that they're "Working in it". The pool is decent but there was debris floating in the water. The breakfast buffet is adequate, but nothing makes up for the dirt, smelly rooms!

Room Tip: Rooms on the waterfront side might help, but I doubt it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Thank you so much for sponsoring and supporting the Fishermen's Village Pirate Festival. it is very much appreciated. we had a wonderful time.

there were howevera few SMALL things that could have made the hotel a bit better though- the ice machines were broken on 2 of the floors.
the mattresses were extremely firm, to the point of being almost hard; my friend and I both woke to aching backs
a lack of luggage carts- I arrived at 2:30 in the morning, and there were no luggage carts to be found. maybe you do have plenty of luggage carts (we found one when leaving), but perhaps a posted note to return luggage carts after use would be helpful
as one of the main hotels, the front desk staff seemed very uninformed about the festival. not that they should know details, but we asked 4-5 employees if there was a shuttle stop at the hotel since so many pirates were staying there, and none of them had any idea. we found out Sun eve. that yes, there was

but these are all minor things. the staff was incredibly friendly and accomodating, the rooms were clean and everything inside them (a/c, showers, toilets) worked, and it was overall a very pleasant experience. I would definitely stay here again, and I would recommend it to others as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com
Thank Courtney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hotel is such a great deal and an excellent location! The staff is wonderful (front desk, maid service, breakfast personnel, management - everyone). The free breakfast is good, particularly on Friday and the weekend when they have a larger selection. The older part of the hotel is being rennovated. Our room was spacious and the bathroom clean. The carpet could use a good cleaning though. The pool is very clean but watch out for the fire ants by the water side (I was stung this trip and my last one by one that climbed up on the chair).

We did not go to the restaurant as it seems to get pretty poor reviews, hopefully that will change because the location is excellent.

A nice park and Fishermen's Village is within walking distance. The hotel will become a Holiday Inn in September/October and the room prices will be going up :-(. I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: I love the water and park combo view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmlBucksPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Found a very reasonable price on the room for Pirate Fest weekend. 1/2 the hotel is being renovated. But the open 1/2 that has also been renovated exceeded the reviews I read. The double bed room was larger than most other hotels that left plenty of room to stretch out. complementary breakfast was typical of most. The pool is located on the side being renovated but the pool has been redone with a nice deck and a good size pool. Close to downtown, 7 blocks from Fishermen's Village. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Next to park bring a bicycle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Excelent the recepcionist on the front desk she gave a solution because i hadn't acces to internet in the 4 floor room 400.Her name Ajax excelent attention and she gave me another room.thanks appreciate.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marisolfloridaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
0.3 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
0.3 mi away
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
#2 of 7 in Punta Gorda
662 reviews
3.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte-Punta Gorda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte
5.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
5.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Address: 300 W Retta Esplanade, Punta Gorda, FL 33950-3620
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Price Range: $69 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Waterfront Hotel Punta Gorda
Best Western Hotel Waterfront
Best Western Punta Gorda
Punta Gorda Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing