We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good a last year?”

Harpoon Harry's Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #26 of 162 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Harpoon Harry's is a fun, casual, seafood restaurant with an incredible view! With quality food, and quality service at reasonable prices, Harpoon Harry's is the perfect spot to enjoy the sunset over Charlotte Harbor! It has outdoor seating that is dog friendly. Sunday-Thursday - Kitchen is open from 11:00am-9:00 pm. (Bar open until 10:00 pm) Friday-Saturday - Kitchen is open from 11:00 am-10:00 pm. (Bar open until 11:00 pm) Bands and Special Events will vary.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not as good a last year?”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

As always, Harpoon Harry's offer a great view and funky atmosphere. We were somewhat disappointed in the quality of their food. Being a tourist 'trap', we expect to pay a little more, but they seem to be offering less? Harpoon Harry's was not as enjoyable as we remember in past years.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank collinrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    431
    312
    147
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
venice
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Only go for the view.”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Have been there several times. The view is great and being able to be outside is what Florida living is all about. I don't care for the self serve seating. I'd rather leave a name and go to the bar for a drink. Also the food is so-so and the service slow. The last time we were there our order got lost. Still going back next week. Not enough waterfront places to choose from.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarenwVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“"Good Sandwich"”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

My husband and I were on our last excursion and decided to try this place for lunch!
We walked in and seated ourselves by the water. It was busy so you have to grab a table quick!

We odered a club sandwich and the wait was moderate but we enjoyed the view and conversation.
We will go back as it was enjoyable and very tasty and the waitress was alittle forgetful but it happens, not a big deal. This is not a fancy place but a simple food and drink one so don't expect anything like a 4 or 5 star restaurant can offer.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2pets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It's a nice view, that's all”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

The view is what it is all about. So if you want to drink a beer with a nice view of the water, it's a fine spot. If you want decent food, I'd skip this place. Tried the spicy shrimp thinking it would be comparable to the Bang Bang Shrimp at Bonefish....not in the same ballpark. I now see why Bonefish is ranked so high among Ft.Myers restaurants....and it is a chain.

Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The waitress was rude and unprofessional and the food was overpriced and below average.”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We seated ourselves although our order was taken right away. Our appetizer was brought out with our food and our waitress never checked back to see if everything was ok or ask if we needed anything. She never asked if we wanted another drink, just brought the bill. I had the burger and my husband had the grouper sandwich. The burger was dry and flavorless and the grouper was just ok. I would not waste your time or money on this place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harpoon Harry's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Harpoon Harry's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing