We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average price for mediocre food but nice waterfront casual hangout.”

Harpoon Harry's Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #30 of 162 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Harpoon Harry's is a fun, casual, seafood restaurant with an incredible view! With quality food, and quality service at reasonable prices, Harpoon Harry's is the perfect spot to enjoy the sunset over Charlotte Harbor! It has outdoor seating that is dog friendly. Sunday-Thursday - Kitchen is open from 11:00am-9:00 pm. (Bar open until 10:00 pm) Friday-Saturday - Kitchen is open from 11:00 am-10:00 pm. (Bar open until 11:00 pm) Bands and Special Events will vary.
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average price for mediocre food but nice waterfront casual hangout.”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Interesting menu combinations. I had the blackened crab stuffed grouper with cranberry orzo. The grouper was really blackened not just blackening seasoning which is hard to find but could have used some seasoning. Our waitress was new and needed to be more familiar with menu options. My daughter ordered plain cheese quesadillas and still got chicken. Appetizers come out with the entrees. They did offer to comp the quesadillas due to mixup.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pnatalie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    420
    303
    144
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
288 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great view-Food not so Good!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

We went to Harpoon Harry's for lunch. The view was great; it was fun watching all of the boats. The food was not so good. The fried shrimp was pretty "greasy"- so were the onion rings. Grilled shrimp were a lot better tasting. Go for the view- not the food!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Fl
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't go for the food”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Harpoon Harry's in Punta Gorda has an excellent location. Dining (better to say eating as dining infers good food, carefully prepared and tastefully presented) on the patio overlooking the Peace River is the perfect location for a lunch or dinner.

However, the food is average at best, thrown in a basket, accompanied by frozen French fries and a poor attempt for something they call coleslaw.

Add to this the fact that it isn't all that cheap and you can do much better.

I was there for lunch today and ordered the most expensive sandwich on the menu, the Grouper sandwich with fries and slaw. I have had grouper in many Southwest Florida locations and expected a nice cut of blackened grouper. What I got was a limp piece of fish on a soft untoasted bun with a piece of lettuce and a thin slice of tomato.

The fish was no more than a 1/4 thick at best and nothing like I expected. It didn't taste bad, it just didn't have any taste at all.

My wife had the salad with a similar piece of broiled grouper on top. Tiny at best.

Add two weak ice teas and the tab including tax and tip was a hefty $38. Certainly not a bargain for lunch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank captainalan2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Vacation Sunset”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The food was average bar food, but the waitress was very friendly and the sunset was beautiful! This is a great spot to watch the boats, see a stunning sunset and enjoy a drink with friends. The food was average. I had the grouper sandwich which was the special that evening, but I didn't think it was anything special.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manton, Michigan
Level Contributor
183 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Burgers....”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We have had a lot of seafood this past week and the Bucaneer burger didn't disappoint for a change. Perfectly done to order....fries were good. One of our group had the shrimp poboy...shrimp were delicious as well. Service was good too. Would visit again. Reasonable prices and beer was cold!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank RetireeOTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harpoon Harry's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Harpoon Harry's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing