We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint”
Review of Burnt Store Grille

Burnt Store Grille
Ranked #78 of 161 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a family (Veteran) owned restaurant serving a wide variety of comfort foods and specials that surprise our guests continually. We serve kids free off the kids menu Sunday and Wednesday when accompanied by an adult meal. Our special Dinners range from swordfish to shrimp and pasta steak and shrimp dishes. We also serve Original Recipe New England Crab Cakes home made with our own crafted sauce prepared by our executive chef ALEX. On Veterans Day we served 500 plus Veterans for free as our way of saying thanks and giving back. We take pride in our great service and wonderful food and our commitment to helping in our neighborhood.We sponsor some school age athletic teams as well as senior teams and a youth basketball league and team organized by our local police department.
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
510 reviews
395 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Quaint”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife was there with a group for lunch. She had the soup & sandwich. A bowl of of soup & a whole sandwich for $6.25. Very good. She saw the Wed special, $9 95 for pot roast or lamb shank with soup or salad and dessert. So we tried it. The lamb was out at 5:45pm. We h ad the oot roast which melted in your mouth.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunfun4850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    43
    37
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good local eatery”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This store front establishment gives large dinner portions at a reasonable price. The service was good as well. I will return to check out the breakfast menu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clark957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
251 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We've been a couple of times and were disappointed, especially given the rave reviews.

Because we were part of a large party, we were seated in the rear both times, where the smell of disinfectant from the restrooms behind us was overwhelming. Nice to know the restrooms are disinfected, but ...

Both the salad and the lentil soup are pallid. The only thing I trusted on the menu was the broiled shrimp and baked potato. Old-fashioned restaurant baked potato in tinfoil is, of course, hard to mess up, but the shrimp is always swimming in a pool of grease. Last time, I became curious about the mashed potato, wondering whether it might be something cool, such as redskin or garlic.

"What kind of mashed potato?" says I.

Waitress: "Half and half."

This, of course, begged the question: "Half WHAT?"

"Half instant and half real potato."

Can't fault the staff for honesty, can you?

Bill's stuffed peppers were gristly and the sauce out of a can. Another time, he asked if the spinach ravioli in vodka sauce was fresh, not frozen, and did NOT get an honest answer. And one can count on the menu's carefully worded "white fish" being the omnipresent Vietnamese catfish--swai, or basa.

Dinner rolls are promised on the menu, and a plate sits on the table awaiting them. None have, in my limited experience, ever arrived. One must have to request them especially.

Why should we go back?

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzymobile47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
1 review
“Home town feel”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our little basic restaurant we keep going back to. Good food and service. Good home town eating. Same waiters/waitresses so they must treat the employees well. Feel at home there.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maxine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa
Level Contributor
111 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have tried a few places in the area, and the grill is as good a place as any for a breakfast, can get very busy at times, however you dont have to wait long to get a table, good selection at a very reasonable price, they have specials as well!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnAlloa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burnt Store Grille also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Burnt Store Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing