We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River City”
Review of River City Grill

River City Grill
Ranked #10 of 162 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Miami Fl
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“River City”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Excellent place in downtown Punta Gorda. NIce friendly bar with good food. Bar can get crowded during happy hour so go early during snowbird season

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeaShellMiamiFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    275
    103
    35
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Toms River
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good meal with family”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Locals we know said it was good so we decided to try River City. I agree the stuffed Grouper was very good. Friends had Shrimp and the Pot Roast.Appetizers were also good. Nice place good service makes this a place we would come back to. IMHO prices were fair and decor nice also.
Heard it's busy in snowbird season but we had a reservation and were seated n time.
All and all it was a pleasant dining experience

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjrfd99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Best Grouper in Florida”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Don't miss the stuffed grouper. It is fabulous. The accompanying vegetables are wonderful too. Get there early. The line forms at 5pm.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jj8117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband &I dined here on a Friday night,March 28th.I recommend making reservations. Michelle,our server was attentive,friendly & knowledgeable about the m menu. We ordered calamari & & escargot very tasty appetizers. Our entrees did not disappoint, Stuffed Grouper & Shrimp Scampi,both were delicious. We had a wonderful dinner! We plan to return soon. Thanks for your great food & service Michelle.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Reservations for 4, and we arrived a little early and were promptly seated at a table in a very nice location. Happy Hour drinks in hand, we ordered. 1 Stuffed sole, 1 sweet and sour butterfish with mango glaze, 1 Dry packed sea scallops, and 1 rigatoni bolognese. Salads arrived promptly, and the meals followed right on time. Everything was hot, fresh, and oh so tasty! Everyone in the group really enjoyed their meal. And the service was stellar! All the specials were explained, our orders taken and served exactly as ordered. Just enough attention paid to the table to be comfortable without being "overserved". We love this place, and will return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyinVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River City Grill also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to River City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing