We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good SW Florida atmosphere”
Review of River City Grill

River City Grill
Ranked #8 of 162 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good SW Florida atmosphere”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

In other words, friendly. The staff remember names and greet returnung customers by name. The food is well above average, well prepared, seasoned well and with a good variety of bothe standard dishes and daily specials. It's a habit with us and our friends.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hall E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    274
    102
    33
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice Friday Night Dinner w/ Friends”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We originally reserved a Table for Two, while in Punta Gorda for a conference. Two friends joined us and we needed a table for four. While very busy that Friday night in mid-October, 2013 the two hostesses accommodated us in an efficient manner. While waiting just a few extra minutes due to the change in seating, the friendly bartender provided us well-made cocktails and a bottle of French wine (Sancere). The wine list was pleasantly diverse with some interesting choices and is priced fairly.

The server was pleasant, despite a completely full restaurant (and folks eating outside and at the bar). Our entrees were presented quickly and with some panache in the food arranged on our plates. Each entree was a generous helping and quite simply put --- yummy.

THIS restaurant is a very good choice if you are in the Punta Gorda area. You will be pleased w/ the entire experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg_Loves_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
966 reviews
341 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 572 helpful votes
“BOGO DEAL”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Recommended to us as up until the end of October they have a Buy One Get One deal. Arrived just after 5pm and the bar area was busy and the restaurant starting to fill. Certain drinks are available half price for Happy hour which I think runs until 6pm (not sure if this is all year round), The frontage looks small but inside it goes back away.

I decided on the Meat Loaf as it's not something we get in the UK and my wife had Fish & Chips. Not sure I would have Meat Loaf again but that's not to say it wasn't enjoyable. When asked, the waitress stated the Fish was Basa and described as flaky which is what my wife prefers. However, she wasn't overly keen on the taste. We later googled and found it to be Vietnamese Catfish (and sold in the UK as a cheap substitute for Cod). My wifes original choice was the Haddock but it came with a (shrimp?) sauce covering which she didn't want and the waitress considered it might be a bit bland on it's own. However, she did like the (two glasses of) Zinfandel wine!

The bar area was thinning out as we left around 6.30pm and the restaurant was getting quite busy.

Overall there was a nice ambience, the waitress was helpful and who can argue with a BOGO?!

We're eating at the Perfect Caper on Saturday and it will be interesting to compare the two dining experiences.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank nnmercman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level Contributor
396 reviews
342 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Wrong Number!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This restaurant is ranked #12 of 108 restaurants in Punta Gorda. It should be a much lower number. I have dinned at most of those below and this restaurant is much better. Food, service, atmosphere all very good. Service and food excellent. Good varied menu with interesting choices. Found all staff extremely friendly and knowledgeable. This is a definite go back place and often.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
punta gorda
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best food and value”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

BOGO's are the way to go! I'm not a snowbird and love this restaurant in summer. The food is awsome and the service is great. Very favorite in Punta Gorda

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank agabedis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River City Grill also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to River City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing