We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time diners”

Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill
Ranked #13 of 162 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar & Grill, Punta Gorda's newest waterfront restaurant opened in January of 2014 in the PG Waterfront Hotel on Charlotte Harbor. The sister restaurant to Dean's South of the Border, Charley's offers a full bar on the scenic deck with the best sunsets in Charlotte Harbor. Our menu is eclectic ranging from fresh seafood including gumbo, crayfish, Ipswich clams, oysters and scallops to steaks, sandwiches, burgers, salads & delicious desserts. We offer inside dining or harborside with entertainment seven days a week. Hurricane Charley's is more than a restaurant, it is a historic picture of the 2004 hurricane which devastated Charlotte Harbor, our walls tell the story of a community effort to recover and triumph over the 2004 hurricane which leveled our city.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First time diners”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We ate dinner at Hurricane Charlies for the first time last night. The food and service were very good. They have outdoor seating, but at 90 plus degrees it is too hot for me. We will definitely return and hopefully the bar side will be open for dining.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janie24437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for your feedback. It does get a bit warm on the deck during summer but you are welcome to sit inside anywhere you like. The main dining room opens onto the deck and you may also request a table in the dining room on the upper level which is air conditioned, staff will be happy to seat you anywhere you like. We hope you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    339
    142
    54
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stay away if you don't smoke”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We've tried Hurricanes Charlie's several times, but finally gave up. If you like inhaling tobacco smoke this is your place. Every time we go, the great outside view and food is ruined. Cigarettes, Pipes, Cigars, you can't get away from it here. No matter where you sit outside be prepared to smell like an ash tray. The people smoking here will tell you it's their right. It's my right not to inhale their poison gas. The food we have tried is good, the service is OK, and the view is nice. Too bad. Ruined every time by smoke in our face. We've tried really hard to like this place but will go elsewhere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We apologize for your unpleasant experience and will take your concerns under careful consideration. Outdoor bars in Florida allow smoking but we understand your right to a smoke free experience. We've been open just a few months and are making adjustments daily. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth the visit! Will most definitely return.”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This was our first visit to Hurricane Charley's and we were very pleased! Our server, Laura, was fabulous! From the moment we entered the restaurant part, we were greeted with a friendly welcome. Laura was very nice, knowledgeable and attentive without being intrusive. The food was very good and the view is great! We are regulars of a nearby tiki style venue on the same Charlotte Harbor, however, Charley's has by far the better atmosphere when it comes to service and the feeling of being welcomed and valued as a customer. We look forward to our next visit and hope to have Laura as our server again. We will highly recommend this to our friends as well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Bazinga! That's what we're shooting for, we want every guest who walks through our door to feel personally welcomed & appreciated. We know you can choose to spend your hard earned $ on hundreds of venues and we are honored you chose us. We love the sunsets and for some reason just working in such a beautiful setting puts a smile on everyone's face. Hope to see you again soon and thanks for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“How much do we love Hurricane Charley”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We discovered Hurricane Charley a couple of months ago, and really wish we could go there weekly. We live in Cape Coral, but my parents are in an assisted living home in Port Charlotte and we just discovered the restaurant by chance. The first time Amber our server was like the best! Very friendly, positive, happy and on top of things. Food has been great both times. Something about waterfront view, makes you just want to spend the afternoon there! The second Pricilla P. took care of us, again, awesome service and food. We would highly recommend this restaurant and we actually are members of the American Legion in Cape Coral motorcycle club and are going to suggest this to be one of our upcoming rides. If you want a great place to eat, good food, price and service, try it out! Thanks, Jim and Sandy Nagorski

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 468Sandy710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
You're making us blush! So nice to hear such positive things about Charley's, staff has been working very hard to bring our level of food & service to a five star rating and we LOVE it when we get it right. Hope to see you soon and bring your friends! We'll be waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
1 review
“Very nice”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

First time at Hurricane Charlies in Punta Gorda, FL. Our waitress, Aleta, was very knowledgeable of the menu and recommended the Gouda Chicken Macaroni and Cheese. Very good. The outside area is awesome with a huge bar. We will definitely go back!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We love the sunsets at the Hunkerdown Deck and we're glad you enjoyed your time with us. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing