We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent water front location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill

Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill
Ranked #12 of 156 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar & Grill, Punta Gorda's newest waterfront restaurant opened in January of 2014 in the PG Waterfront Hotel on Charlotte Harbor. The sister restaurant to Dean's South of the Border, Charley's offers a full bar on the scenic deck with the best sunsets in Charlotte Harbor. Our menu is eclectic ranging from fresh seafood including gumbo, crayfish, Ipswich clams, oysters and scallops to steaks, sandwiches, burgers, salads & delicious desserts. We offer inside dining or harborside with entertainment seven days a week. Hurricane Charley's is more than a restaurant, it is a historic picture of the 2004 hurricane which devastated Charlotte Harbor, our walls tell the story of a community effort to recover and triumph over the 2004 hurricane which leveled our city.
1 review
“Excellent water front location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Good food and great location. Our waitress, Alita was wonderful. I would recommend. A great new resturaunt for P.G.I.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Corey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for your kind recognition of Aleta. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you back soon. We will begin our Summer Specials next week, 24 items $10 & under, some as low as $4. We also have Happy Hour now, M-F 2-6pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    307
    128
    52
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful water views, good food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We recently bought a condo in Punta Gorda and wanted to try this restaurant. What a treat! Charlie's has beautiful water views to go with good food and good service. We had a great time and will be coming back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BillC73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you so much for the review. We can't take credit for the beautiful water but we appreciate your kind words & hope you'll return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“3 for 3”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

My wife and I have gone twice by ourselves and once with family members. All three dining experiences have been great. The food is very good, the portions are
generous and the service is very good.
The last two visits we had Aleta as our waitress and she is a joy. She keeps the drinks filled and is always nearby if needed. Some seem to go on break right after the food arrives.
Try it out and hope Aleta is your server. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottB221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
It seems that Aleta is a big favorite and we thank you for your review & recognition of your server. We strive for consistency and it makes us very happy you're a repeat customer with a positive dining experience. We now have a Happy Hour M-F 2-6pm and will be presenting a Summer Special Menu with 24 items under $10. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hurricane Charliey's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Great Food. Reasonable price, Stacy is a geat waitress and location perfect on the Peace River.
Easy to get ro.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank airportdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we appreciate your comments & we're glad you enjoyed your visit. We now have a Happy Hour M-F 2-6pm and will soon have a Summer Specials menu with 24 items under $10, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
2 reviews
“Extraordinary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Aleta was our waitress. She was very knowledgeable regarding our drink choices and very helpful with which dinner we'd enjoy. Very excellent extensive menu choices and extremely reasonable pricing. Highly recommend!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen26154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and kind comments. We care very much about your experience and read all our reviews for continued growth & improvement. When we make you happy, we're happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing