We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will Return” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill

Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill
Ranked #12 of 156 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar & Grill, Punta Gorda's newest waterfront restaurant opened in January of 2014 in the PG Waterfront Hotel on Charlotte Harbor. The sister restaurant to Dean's South of the Border, Charley's offers a full bar on the scenic deck with the best sunsets in Charlotte Harbor. Our menu is eclectic ranging from fresh seafood including gumbo, crayfish, Ipswich clams, oysters and scallops to steaks, sandwiches, burgers, salads & delicious desserts. We offer inside dining or harborside with entertainment seven days a week. Hurricane Charley's is more than a restaurant, it is a historic picture of the 2004 hurricane which devastated Charlotte Harbor, our walls tell the story of a community effort to recover and triumph over the 2004 hurricane which leveled our city.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Will Return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

This was our first time since the previous restaurant, Benedetto's, closed & I must say I was impressed. The food was good, the price was right, while the service was friendly & speedy. We sat outside & although the weather was slightly gloomy, the harbor looked beautiful. My only complaint was being seated at a small table near the bar & a young man being loud, apparently drunk (it was only 7pm). Besides that, I look forward to eating there again soon.

Helpful?
Thank Katalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    309
    128
    52
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
1 review
“Tony Reed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Mother's Day lunch was perfect!!! Food was great and our server, Tony was outstanding!!! Will go back for sure!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
We're honored you chose to spend your holiday with us and appreciate your feedback. We will be sure to recognize Tony. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“My first visit and it was amazing!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

This was my first visit and it was amazing!!! We had Calamari for an appetizer it was absolutely amazing....& shrimp & grits & a New York Striip Dinner....the service was Awesome.....Marissa was our waitress and she very attentive and pleasant!!! The manager Erika was very nice and personable. The view was amazing.....overall I give it a big A+!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RK050914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you Thank you! We are all working very hard and your comments make us smile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Decent Food, Decent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

This was our 2nd visit to Hurricane Charley's since they opened a couple months back. The food quality and service has been good. The pricing is fair for what you get, although the drinks seem a bit on the high side - guess we're paying for the nice water view!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Island_Gypsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review we appreciate your feedback and want you to know we now have a Happy Hour as well as food & drink specials for summer. Happy Hour is 2-6p hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best food & view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

I recently retired to Punta Gorda Isle and found Hurricane Charlies Raw Bar and Restaurant. I am so glad I did. The atmosphere outside and the view is hard to beat.

I have had lunch quite a few times over the past two months and have never been disappointed in the quality of food and service. The new daily specials are great! I was very happy to be served lunch at the outside bar on a real plate and silverware and NOT in a to-go box or paper plate with plastic utensils as you find in so many other outside restaurants/bars.

Bob, the GM, has a great staff of Bartender's and Server's to work with. Doug, Brittany, Laura and Lori just to mention a few are first rate.

If you have not tried Hurricane Charlies you will not be disappointed. If you have not been there lately you really need to give it another try.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words, we work for the customer and when you're happy we're happy. Thank you also for recognizing staff, they will be very pleased to read your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing