We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sign of a good restaurant is seeing the parking filled with cars!”

Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill
Ranked #9 of 163 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar & Grill, Punta Gorda's newest waterfront restaurant opened in January of 2014 in the PG Waterfront Hotel on Charlotte Harbor. The sister restaurant to Dean's South of the Border, Charley's offers a full bar on the scenic deck with the best sunsets in Charlotte Harbor. Our menu is eclectic ranging from fresh seafood including gumbo, crayfish, Ipswich clams, oysters and scallops to steaks, sandwiches, burgers, salads & delicious desserts. We offer inside dining or harborside with entertainment seven days a week. Hurricane Charley's is more than a restaurant, it is a historic picture of the 2004 hurricane which devastated Charlotte Harbor, our walls tell the story of a community effort to recover and triumph over the 2004 hurricane which leveled our city.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

First of all, this restaurant is called Hurricane Charleys. Established by the owners of Dean's South of Border and named after the hurricane that wreaked havoc in our community on August, 13, 2004 (which was on Friday). I knew this restaurant would provide good quality food. I had the oysters with the garlic toast points that were flavored with garlic butter. They were outstanding! My dinner was a saute grouper with bernaise sauce, sweet baked potatoes with their homemade sugar/cinnamon butter and saute spinach with garlic.

This restaurant was very busy for a Friday but the minute we entered this place, we were seated promptly and our waiter, Mark, was excellent in bringing our drinks and food. I highly recommend this restaurant whether you prefer seafood, steak, sandwiches, salads or if you want to be at the bar for drinks or dessert. This is the place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this very informative review. We appreciate your feedback & hope you will visit us again soon. We are now able to take reservations, 941-575-0062 & will begin a Happy Hour 2-5pm on May 1st as well as a Mothers Day Buffet. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,068)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,060 - 1,064 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

We have been there two times in two weeks. The 1st time I ordered the Fish & Chips (English batter). It was close to the Fish & Chips like back in Rhode Island. The secong time I ordered the Mussel apertizer. The Mussels were in a Garlic and White wine sauce. They were outstanding.....
The Mussels were $11.00, and you get one pound... The Fish and Chip dinner was $12.00 .
My Wife had the Seafood bisque, she loved it.... The place was done over new floors extc. The outside eating area was done over as well as the bar.
We will go back for sure. Over all it is a little high, but well worth it... The Mussels are a great price........ I could drink that sauce, but don't want to get sick.... Lots of Garlic YUMMY.......
They are now open for Lunch as well.. The Staff is all new so you have to be patient with them but they are eager to please....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean S, Owner at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you so much, we are working really hard to get this just right and your kind words just gave me the energy to go on! Sandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Roland K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean S, Director of Marketing at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Thais B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean S, Director of Marketing at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Sebastien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean S, Director of Marketing at Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill also viewed

 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Hurricane Charley's Raw Bar And Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing