We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“After highly recommending this Restaurant................”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Captain's Table

Captain's Table
Reserve with OpenTable
Captain's Table is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 158 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Marion Ave
Description: The Captain's Table located in Fisherman's Village Waterfront Mall, Resort & Marina in historic and beautiful Punta Gorda, Florida. Come enjoy the stunning views of Charlotte Harbor with the freshest gulf seafood, hand-cut steaks and dishes from our award-winning chef. It is the perfect pairing of ambiance and seasonal flare.
Randolph, Vermont
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“After highly recommending this Restaurant................”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

I had guests from out of town visiting and they offered to take us out to dinner. We suggested the Captain's Table because we always receive good food and service and enjoy the beautiful sunset views.

We called for reservations and were told that they weren't necessary. It was April 8th and we arrived around 6:30 and the as expected, the restaurant wasn't busy and seating was available, but the worst part was the quality of the food. The salad bar was fine. We had to wait for the lettuce bowl to be refilled but otherwise it was ok. The dinner however was far from adequate. I ordered Stuffed Grouper, a dish that I have enjoyed previously at this restaurant. My serving was dried out and tough. Obviously it wasn't fresh or it was grossly over cooked. I was very embarrassed to see that the other three people at my table were equally disappointed in their meals. It's too bad because I had described The Captains Table as a first rate restaurant. At $25 more for an entree, I expect well prepared, fresh food. But this night it was significantly well below my previous experiences. It's likely that we won't go back because there should not be that kind of inconsistency in the quality of the food at a restaurant. And again, our server never put bread on the table. If you're not going to serve bread, then don't set table with a bread plate. And my recommendation is that food at the River City Grill in downtown Punta Gorda is consistently very good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    222
    93
    55
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very pleased”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We were a party of seven. The service was excellent and the timing excellent as well. Food was very good and the view outstanding.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank puntaresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
1 review
“4 people in our party got sick !!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

went to captains table (party of 9 ) food seemed fine BUT around 11pm it literally hit the fan 4 of us had stomach and bowel troubles lasting through the night Called Monday 4/21 knowing 3 others had called previously and was told by manager " no one has called saying they have had a problem" It is now 4/23 4 more calls to "general manager " and a visit on 4/22 NO RESULT THESE PEOPLE DON'T SEEM TO CARE !!!!!! it would be interesting to know if anyone else had a problem that day .

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raymond v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany R, General Manager at Captain's Table, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Following a formal health inspection it was concluded by the Florida Health Department that all food and safety standards are in compliance and no illnesses are attributed to the Captain’s Table Restaurant. Of course, we take such claims and inquiries very seriously. We are committed to upholding the highest standards and best practices of food safety to provide our customers with quality food and quality service in a cleaned and maintained environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“For That Special Evening Out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Location on the waterfront is great with both inside and outside dining and you can't beat the beautiful sunsets. With drinks you'll probably not get out of this restaurant for much less than $100, but every once in awhile it's worth it especially for special occasions. We recently celebrated our mom's 95th birthday there with 17 guests on a busy Valentine's night and the service was great. A special bonus is this restaurant is located in the quaint, outside waterfront mall of Fisherman's Village, so plan to spend some time there, too, before dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FloridaSunBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always Tasty And Reliable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Captain's Table is my favorite restaurant in Punta Gorda, and we have been eating there for about 4 years now. It is a lovely place that has large windows overlooking Charlotte Harbor, plus there is a fairly large outdoor dining area where you can see the many boats and watch the wildlife. I most often get some kind of fish, shrimp or scallops and the dishes are always good, plus there is always a nice vegetable, which I appreciate. Lately we have had appetizers. I recommend the Flatbread with Red Pepper Cream Cheese Dip, yummy! Key lime pie for dessert is sometimes in order too and it's great. Captain's Table is upstairs from another eatery, but it's worth your while to take the elevator or climb the few stairs to take in the views and enjoy the food. As to the service, we have not really had a problem. Sometimes there is a slight wait during peak season, and this winter (2014) all restaurants in our area have been overwhelmed with winter tourists due to the horrid northern weather. As for cleanliness, I have never, in four years, ever had to request a clean place setting. As I said, always reliable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's Table also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Captain's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing