We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant under this ownership”
Review of Captain's Table

Captain's Table
Reserve with OpenTable
Captain's Table is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 162 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Marion Ave
Description: The Captain's Table located in Fisherman's Village Waterfront Mall, Resort & Marina in historic and beautiful Punta Gorda, Florida. Come enjoy the stunning views of Charlotte Harbor with the freshest gulf seafood, hand-cut steaks and dishes from our award-winning chef. It is the perfect pairing of ambiance and seasonal flare.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The best restaurant under this ownership”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Of the three restaurants - all waterside in Punta Gorda - the Captain's Table seems to have consistently the best food and service. The staff appears to have been there a while, hence they are pretty efficient and know the menu. I've had their Pineapple Boat with curried chicken twice in a row - it's lovely. My daughter had a grouper sandwich (very popular in this area) and it was fresh and well prepared. Even my husband's every day club sandwich was great. The restaurant is upstairs from the company's Harpoon Harry's which I have vowed never to go to again. And the Laishley Crab House down the street, even though more upscale and pricey, is not as good as the Captain's Table. You can sit out on the deck and watch boats go by. And you can tie your boat to the dock if you're going by water. A good choice.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    230
    97
    58
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, FL
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Beautiful view.”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Sat outside beautiful waterview, we were there for lunch, service was good and the food was good. Yes we would go back...

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank groove50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best view in town!”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Best place for a gorgeous view of the river. Seafood chowder, dinner only, is superb!

Helpful?
Thank foodieinpuntagorda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great friday night all-you-can-eat seafood buffet!”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

More upscale than Harpoon Harry's, both of which are at Fisherman's Village. Beautiful views of Charlotte Harbor. Piano entertainment on weekends. Good food, the seafood buffet is terrific, all-you-can-eat for $29.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Pappywiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“We'll need to come back for a real opinion”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

It was chilly and breezy and out of season. We went in for lunch, six of us. We were the only people braving it on the outside deck. The view out over the bay is quite outstanding. The staff was quick and friendly, also amused as they tried to weigh down the napkins in a stiff breeze. it was a quiet lunchtime.
My wife had the steak salad and found it surpringly good. I went with the New England chowder. I've had better but it was quite acceptable.
Given the circumstances it's hard to give a true evaluation. We need to come back and sit on the deck when its hot and the umbrellas are up, when its busy and bustling, when we can do the menu and the ambiance justice.
Excellent location, good, friendly service but on this visit we can't go better than an average mark.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ&ERtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's Table also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Captain's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing