We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bland food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Oyster Bar - CLOSED

Village Oyster Bar
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
163 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“bland food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Had a fish sandwich, huge portions but absolutely no taste to the dish. The only flavor was the ketchup on my fries. Coworker got fried oysters and they were overbreaded.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    36
    22
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not bad - Not Great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were visiting Fisherman's Village and we were hungry and thirsty on a hot day. We decided to check it out, opened the door, and the small bar and restaurant reminded us of some small pubs in our hometown. So we decided to give it a try. There were only three beers on tap and the madras my friend ordered was not mixed very well. However the bartender was attentive and friendly. We both had nice salads and we each had seafood entrees, which were flavorful. It was a pleasant experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gordie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Prime Rib Earlybird Specials before 5:00 PM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

They have the highest quality Prime Rib we have had snce we moved to Florida last November. We've tried prime rib at a few other restaurants, but the quality of the beef here far surpasses others in this area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kalari11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississippi
1 review
“Ridiculous!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

This is the worst service I have ever had! As we went in it looked appealing. Took 5 minutes to be acknowledged and as we finally got seated it took another 15 minutes to get drinks. Then she said she was going to go put in our appetizer before she let us order our food and never came back. Our waitress had 2 other tables, but yet was apparently to busy to pay any attention to us. We finally got up and left before our appetizer even arrived. They won't last long with the service they have

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scubasteve304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This restaurant could use Robert Irvine or Gordon Ramsey”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Date Visited: 08/30/2012. While looking out over the Peace River, this was an awesome site but the decor was out of the late 1970's, early 1980's. The services was good but the food was terrible!

My friend ordered the clam chowder, oysters on a halfshell, and we both had scallop scampi. I decided to try oyster stew, which consisted mostly of milk and oysters, no potatoes, celery, or onions, just a bland batch of oyster swimming in milk. While tasting the oysters on a half shell, there were pieces of shell in my mouth, obviously someone who had shucked the oysters were in a hurry or might have used a hammer. I also experienced tasting another oyster shell while eating my "oyster stew."

When the scallops came out, they were baked with a lot of parsely and a side small cup of butter. We wanted the scallops to be broiled in butter and topped with some garlic,, which are the ingredients of scampi. The waitress took the meal back and the chef topped this with breadcrumbs, which was okay but not worth paying the price they are asking for the quality of the food or the lack of it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Oyster Bar also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing