We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“it's all about food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amimoto Japanese Restaurant

Amimoto Japanese Restaurant
Tamiami Trail, Punta Gorda, FL 33950
(941) 505-1515
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 153 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“it's all about food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

mediocre looking inside, this place surprises with the quality of the food and the size of the portions. seafood is obviously very fresh, and they put a generous amount in every kind of rolls. also, instead of usual 6 pieces rolls they offer 8. they definitely want to make sure no one stays hungry there.
i am not a fan of fried food whatsoever, but after i've tried my boyfriends calamari tempura, i immediately ordered another portion - it was that delicious!
service is nice and accommodating. will come back there again and again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank roomoftunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    17
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ah-so!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

the food is terrific, and the service is attentive and gracious. Good old tempura remains our favorite.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank doristhegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
140 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Consistently good and fresh...PGI's best kept secret!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We love to go here. The sushi chef, who is Japanese, is the owner, the restaurant is small, and cozy. Very clean. The salmon entree, comes in a bento box presentation with lots of goodies, is EXCELLENT. It's a LARGE piece of salmon in the chef's special sauce and baked or broiled. Everyone who has had it raves about it. The sashimi and sushi is excellent. They serve wine and saki. One crazy dessert that they have is Red Bean ice cream in what feels like raw rice dough. My brother and I think it is just out of this world! It's tucked away in a corner of the Toll's Plaza on Rt. 41S, hard to see from 41. We think it's a best kept secret!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lbruna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Nice place, good sushi,a bit pricey but worth a visit. Will reccommend to others. You dont want to skimp on price when itcomes to sushi.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chumley621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sushi Sushi Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I have always had a great experience at this restaurant and always go back for the same thing. It does get a little pricey but if you know what you're getting you cant complain (fresh fish). The service is good the people are nice and welcome you the moment you step in the door. I would recommend this place to the avid sushi eater!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amimoto Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Amimoto Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing