We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat it”

The Orange House Wine Bar
Ranked #17 of 162 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Orange House is combination Bistro and Wine Bar. We offer small plates of various portions. You may snack on imported olives, nibble on a Artisan Cheese Plate, or if you are up for something a bit heartier...you can choose a Flatbread or Wine Bar Plate . We have an amazing selection of wines with over 100 to choose from and around 50 that are served by the glass . Our staff is focused on providing you with a great experience, so please ask about our wines and if a bottle is open, we will happily let you sample. We also have an ample selection of bottled beers and make a great cappuccino or latte! LIVE MUSIC!!.... including Jazz, Blues, & Motown can be heard every Thursday, Friday and Saturday night. The staff is warm and inviting and we treat you like family. ******SIP INTO SOMETHING COMFORTABLE AT THE ORANGE HOUSE******
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Can't beat it”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I'm not sure what I can say that I haven't already said in my previous reviews of the orange House, but it just keeps getting better. Ruth's wine knowledge, while already excellent is improving daily and Bob's small plates are still superb. We have taken other couples for their first visit and they are always impressed

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hall E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, Owner at The Orange House Wine Bar, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Are customers keep us on track to find and serve the greatest wines we can , Bob in
the kitchen means he is always thinking up new Just A Bite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    21
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Orange House Wine Tasting”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Very nice food and wine. Very nice hosts! Had the blue cheese stiffed fish with pastrami wrap-excellent.
Tried 3 different wines. Fun place and the music duo was very entertaining.
We will go back.

Helpful?
2 Thank buenobuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, Owner at The Orange House Wine Bar, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for such a lovey report, every time we read we know we are doing somethings
right. Please come back, we are changing all the time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Date Night Place”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Excellent unique wines at reasonable "by the glass" prices. Great atmosphere and live music. The best feature is the graciousness of the hosts. We felt like we were VIP'S on our first visit. Small food selection on menu so we ate before arriving.

Helpful?
Thank SWFL-WineSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, Owner at The Orange House Wine Bar, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
There is and old saying "always treat guests as you yourself would like to be treated" with
the reviews like yours we feel we are on the right track. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Our little gem in Punta Gorda”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Have frequented this place and am happy every time I do. This night they had a jazz/blues duo playing to a packed house. The owners and staff are wonderful, accommodating and attentive. Great selection of wines and Ruth can dial you in with just a few questions about your likes and dislikes! We don't get to see her husband Bob too often as he is busy cranking out his unique little dishes of exotic meats and cheeses along with some surprises each night. Thursdays and Fridays have live music from 7 to close (usually around 10).

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyDJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, Owner at The Orange House Wine Bar, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Review as yours assure us that we are on the right track, Thank you for being a customer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular !”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

An absolutely awesome place. We've lived in town only a couple months and this has become our favorite go to spot. Ruth and Bob made us feel right at home the minute we walked in the door for the very first time.Great food and wine in a very friendly and relaxing atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glennlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob W, Owner at The Orange House Wine Bar, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
We are working on being the best, it has almost been a year now and are pleased so far.
But of course you are always finding ways to improve, thank you for the lovely review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orange House Wine Bar also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Orange House Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing