We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh; not bad, not that good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fishermen's Village Resort
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Meh; not bad, not that good”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

The unit itself was large. Two bedrooms and a loft. The kitchen was good size. The bathroom was tiny, but there was a dressing room/make up area separate.
The downstairs shops and restaurants were cute; we did lots of shopping. The best restaurant was the Fish Market; great view, above average food. Harpoon Harrys was noisy and the food was average, but if you like that noisy, bar-ish; the view was great.

We arrived after 5:00 pm and the office was closed, but there is a security phone right next to the office, and the security officer arrived in a timely fashion to check us in. I would suggest that they have a packet of activities in the units so that if you get in late, you still have options of choosing activities. We missed a Farmer's Market that took place on Saturday as there was no information about it available.

Oldies music piped in til past 8 pm; I found that annoying. You could hear it from your room, over the t.v. sound.

Not on a beach! The closest beach was probably 30 minutes away! Be aware!

One night we happened to go to the wine tasting at the Fruit Wine shop downstairs; the owner was fun and talkative and helpful. Good deal, 6 tastes for $3.00. We also went to Charles Salon and had pedicures! My husband loved it and so did I; we got a 10% discount for the fact that we were staying at the resort.

We took a sunset cruise one night, it was too cloudy to see the sunset, but we enjoyed the boat, and the view. We booked a day cruise for later in the week, but I became ill and wasn't able to go, and the owners were very kind to refund the entire cost of the trip.

Important to have a car if you go here.

Putz alert!!! The coffee shop in the mall downstairs is called "Ornery Attitude". The owner was a jerk! I was wearing a political t shirt; I think he was attempting to be humorous when he said he wouldn't serve me because of who I supported for President, but then he got nasty and told me he felt "sorry for me". It got uglier, which was amazing to me.

We decided to go to a local coffee/cupcake shop or the Starbucks from then on. The cupcake shop is awesome; great coffee, good cupcakes and they serve alcohol as well. (In Your Face Cupcakes). I complained about the guy to the owners/managers of the property and they said it was one of many complaints they had about this man. He was a fool to be rude to a customer; we were there for a week and I have to have my coffee daily!

I wouldn't go back there, but it was okay for an experience. Not much to do, really, unless you are a fishing person, I guess.

Room Tip: See if you can stay away from the "Harpoon Harry's" side; noisy all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherylgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    62
    23
    10
    14
See reviews for
56
74
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Stayed 1 wk in a time-share swap. So, normal cost unknown. This facility is located a few blocks outside of dwntwn Punta Gorda; in a residential area. It would be too far to easily walk, unless U had lots to time. The building is perhaps 2 football fields long. It is a long rectangle extending out into the bay/harbor, on solid ground. There is a marina on one side and a small bay on the other side. The condos are all on the second floor. They are located above a popular shopping area below. Some condos run along the main walkway below; others, like ours, ran perpendicular to the main walkway; but still above shops/restaurants. These are probably quieter. There are restaurant/bars and typical tourist-type shops. There was a good crowd each day in the shopping area. There is piped in oldies musak. There are white-haired people everywhere. Hey ... this is Florida. This seemed to be the principal local tourist shopping area. There is little shopping in dwntwn PG. Most shops here, closed by abt 7 or 8 pm; so there was little noise at nite. The one major exception was Harpoon Harrys, a popular bar/restaurant, located at the extreme, bay/ocean end of the building. Harrys stayed open much later, into the nite. There was a sign asking motorcyclists to keep the noise down when they entered/left. But, there were many we heard blasting away. It seems many cycles dont have mufflers; or its old guys stlll stuck in Jr High Schl development mode. So, get a condo away from Harrys. We did not hear anything abt 100 yrds away. There is a nice, smallish pool and tennis courts.

Our condo was located abt dead center of the building. It over-looked a stage/gazebo and community gathering place. There was some free, live musical entertainment that ended by 9pm, 2 or 3 nites of the wk. The condo entrance looked out into the bay. The back end had a balcony, that also looked out into the bay. Shaded in the afternoon. Very nice view. Various sections of the building were painted in complementary pastel colours. Unfortunately, the white trim painted areas were badly peeling. They need to get on that.

Friendly, helpful, staff. There was an optional, early wk, brief talk abt local attractions and activities. We found it helpful. There was a free hamburger/hotdog cookout; later in the wk ... very nice touch. New washers and dryers were installed the week we were there. Condo guest parking was on one side of the building. It extended just short of halfway along the building. There was some handicapper parking a bit closer to midway. So, if U have mobility issues, get a condo in the front half of the building. I think there were abt 5 stair wells located along the building. There were at least 2 elevators; one near the condo office at the front; the other was abt 1/2 way down along the building.

The condo itself was quite large; rectangular in shape. Kitchen area just inside the door. Counter w/ bar stools. Kitchen lacked a cutting board and coasters; but we did not ask abt it. 4-seater round dining table. Convertible couch and standard loveseat. The loveseat had seen better days. Nearly sank into the floor upon sitting down. TV had a DVD player; both worked well. The 2 bedrooms w/ a separating bathroom; ran the length of the condo; along side the common living areas. 3 quiet ceiling fans; one in each bdrm, and one in the living rm area. Provided good cooling. Very quiet air conditioning. One bedrm had a ladder to an overhead loft w/ a futon, sml table lamp. The loft over-looked one bedrm and the common living area. So, sound and vision was shared amongst these 3 areas ... limited privacy/quiet; except for the bathrm and other bdrm. Bathrm had doors on each end; and another door to the toilet and shower/tub. The toilet paper was the unusually narrow and see-thru thin, institutional variety. We bought a conventional roll locally. This bathroom was quite small; only 1 sink. The shower/tub, appeared to be an upgrade. Good pressure/temps, but a bit dark, and the shower head was low on the wall for taller people.

This was a pleasant facility. Perhaps, a notch or 2 above a middle-grade accommodation.

Room Tip: See review. The local library was heavily used. It opened at 10am; and the parking was full by 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SpartanTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

My husband and I were guests of an owner of one of the timeshare units at Fishermen's Village this past week and what a relaxing time we had! The unit itself was comfortable and roomy. The bathroom had a tub with shower, toilet and then a seperate vanity area. Still very nice. We had the choice of either eating out or dining in - full kitchen area with dishwasher and all of the kitchen essentials. The balcony was perfect for four people and ours overlooked the harbor. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Shops were great and what a great way for exercise! Pool was very refreshing and comfortable! So glad we decided to go! Matter of fact, really thinking about getting our own unit for a week as a timeshare! Would highly recommend Fishermen's Village to everyone! Randy and Miracle

Room Tip: Good tip would be to ask for harborside - unless you like sunset - then sunset side is perfect for r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FishVille, Resort Manager at Fishermen's Village Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. So glad that you enjoyed your stay! I hope that you come back to visit again. We would love to have you become owners at our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We exchanged our usual time share for Fishermen's Village this year because of a family wedding in Florida. The entire property is badly in need of a makeover. Everything was very worn and outdated. The location right on the marina was good and the town of Punta Gorda is charming. The internet service was free but was not working more than it was working. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating which helped overcome some of our disappointment with the property. If I was going to give the place a number rating I'd give it about a 3 with 10 being the best.

Room Tip: I doubt there are any good rooms at this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jawlmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FishVille, Manager at Fishermen's Village Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for the opportunity to discuss the specific issues that you had during your stay. We always enjoy feedback that helps us to improve our guests' vacations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Villa was clean and had an outstanding view of the harbor-saw dolphins almost every morning. Loved the restaurants-especially the Village Oyster Bar. Wish the stores were open al iitle later. Villa staff was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Wow, we had a very quiet peaceful visit. I didn't hear all the motorcycles late at night or noise. They do play music but around 9-10pm it all stops. We enjoyed walking down to listen to the music and sometimes get a drink and maybe dance in the courtyard! They seem to be playing more variety of music which was really nice. One day they had a farm market in the courtyard which was a great way to get fresh food for making our dinner for the week. Wishes, that the bathroom was alittle bigger and modern. That they had better and larger barb. area (gas grills?)-maybe a better way to close off the area for the resort/marina people. Same with the staircases-maybe gates with card key to enter the upstairs!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carelomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire. U.K.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

First time at fishermans village and we were glad we chose it. We had a great place overlooking the marina and didn't get the noise that others complain about. Definately a place for families with older kids. We spent the time shopping, fishing, sitting out and admiring the sunsets and visiting sanibel and the other beaches which are well worth the hour or so drive. The staff and shop owners are all friendly and helpful. A very relaxing place to just take things slowly and chill.
On the downside, we didn't think the apartments were as luxurious as some of the others we've had in florida and seemed a bit tatty in places. The pool and pool area could do to be a bit larger too.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victorcob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
1.0 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
0.8 mi away
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
#4 of 7 in Punta Gorda
506 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
#2 of 7 in Punta Gorda
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte-Punta Gorda
6.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
6.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishermen's Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishermen's Village Resort

Property: Fishermen's Village Resort
Address: 1200 W Retta Esplanade, Punta Gorda, FL 33950-5325
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fishermen's Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fishermen's Village Resort Villas are located directly above Fishermen's Village Shops, Boutiques and Restaurants. An all inclusive vacation destination, each villa is 1,000 sq. feet, accommodates up to six people, two bedroom, loft, kitchen and balcony. Free bicycle loaner program, BBQ grills, pool, on site shopping, dining, water recreation activities. Daily/Weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fishermen's Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishermen`s Village Villas Hotel Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing