We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Smokehouse

The Smokehouse
Ranked #37 of 158 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Port Charlotte, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The best sausage gravy and potato's I have EVER eaten! I know people who travel a long way to get this stuff and it is worth it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    18
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda Fl
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth skipping class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I am not a big breakfast eater but one morning I got really hungry and skipped a class and a half. It was totally worth it ! The egg , bacon, and the country fries were delicious ! This place is so worth the trip and the money ! Not to mention you can't go anywhere else down here and recieve this kind of southern hospitality !

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meghan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“YUK!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Don't usually leave reviews but since I ate here due to reading great reviews, wanted to save even one unsuspecting diner. The food was NOT good! The home fries they top with sausage gravy are the most low-cost pre-made frozen potato? product I've ever eaten. It's covered in a bland white thick sauce with bits of sausage in it. The sausage patty is a coarse ground burger sized bland patty loaded with bone or gristle. The scrambled egg was flat and tasteless, toast dark brown. Definitely the worst breakfast - only thing eaten was the egg and the coffee. Sam the waitress was OK. Picnic tables tough to seat elderly or disabled folks. Bathrooms outside somewhere. Anywhere else has to be better. It was awful!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
166 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Smokehouse? More like Chokehouse”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

They might consider calling this the Jokehouse. Me and the gf went here for lunch. She ordered the special which was a rost beef au jus. Nothing but some old meat slapped between some bread with au jus, sans horseradish. It was terrible. I ordered some ribs erroneously thinking that with a name like smokehouse they would be good. What was placed before me was a plate of freezer burned meat. That was it. I could have achieved the exact same result if I had put some ribs in my freezer for a few months and then put them straight into the oven. I managed to choke one down but then could not eat anymore. Guess what? They still charged me for them without even a hint of an apology. Do yourself a favor and steer well of this culinary and customer service devoid pit of a rat trap.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SweetTizzyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Down home greatness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Outstanding meat products. They make their own pork sausage and cure their own bacon and ham. To die for. The eggs and grits are good, too. Not crazy about their pancakes (think they are frozen and just heated up). But the atmosphere is fun and waaaaaaaaaaaaayyyy casual. You sit at wooden picnic tables and enjoy the food. Busy, busy on Sundays and not open Mondays but would love to go back and try some of their BBQ for lunch one day. Just thinking about anything they do with pork makes me drool.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anderpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Smokehouse also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing