We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less then mediocre food and service”
Review of Morales Cuban Cafe - CLOSED

Morales Cuban Cafe
Cuisines: Cuban
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Port Charlotte, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Less then mediocre food and service”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Slow service. Staff is unaware of menu when we asked questions about certain dishes. The chicharrones were undercooked and the congris was disgustinf. Do not order the mojarra because it is half a filet of tilapia. The roasted chicken is fried in the same grease as the pork and the chicken smelled and tasted like a hot dog.Food was flavorless and far from edible. The waitress never came backnto give us refills, ask if our food was ok or give us our check. In the end it is Over priced and the food is not good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susieq197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    38
    13
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Traditional Cuban Food that Satisfies”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

When you go, be sure you have time for a very leisurely lunch or dinner. No fast food here. Service is pleasant albeit quite slow at times. Don't let that deter you from going. The food is worth the wait. This is authentic Cuban food. So if you order the tamales and are expecting something akin to Taco Bell, don't go. However, if you are pining for roast pork, savory black beans and rice (my favorite) or a lightly breaded tilapia that nearly covers your plate and disappears in a flash after the first bite, this is your place. The food is reasonably priced. The tilapia with a generous portion of black beans and rice plus a non-alcoholic beverage will cost about $12. I would pop a $20 and add some fried sweet plantains. You'll still go hem with change. Lovely people and great food.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelLAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ignored”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Went to Port Charlotte Morales for one of their great Cuban sandwiches. Dining room had eight to ten tables filled with customers. We saw only one person waiting on tables. Bartender seated us at small table with one short leg. It wobbled. While looking over menu another couple came in and were seated by bartender. After about ten minutes other couple had received drinks and orders taken. No indication that we were even noticed by anyone. We left never to return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Service not a priority here!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had visited the Punta Gorda location on two previous occasions. One time when then ran out of Corona beer and both times when the service was sorely lacking by a disinterested service crew.
We hoped for better on our first visit to the new location.
Unfortunately, nothing has changed! It was a weekday night with only six tables filled.
On our arrival we were not immediately seated, although there were staff at the bar and wait staff that walked by looking at us.
Upon finally being seated we again waited an extended time till someone approached us with water. A while later someone else approached with menus and then after a long wait someone else approached to take our order.
The Cuban buttered bread was tasteless and stale and the Cuban sandwich was average and not pressed as much as usually expected. The one positive was the special of pork ribs it was tasty and the meat fell off the bone.
We noticed since they give you water automatically when first seated nobody at the other 6 occupied tables had a beer. So we stuck with the "aqua" as well.
We observed people at another table have to repeatedly request their check to leave and then wait at least 10 minutes before the waitress returned with it. It apparently is the norm as we too had to wait.
In the end, we would return for the food but since the service is consistently slow, uninterested, unorganized, and preoccupied as if they were actually serving IN Cuba we likely will never go back! There are just too many other better places to dine and spend our money.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cosmo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“2nd Visit in new Location”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The Cuban food we've tried here on two occasions is very good. I can certainly recommend the roasted pork, along with white rice, black beans and cassava (yucca). My husband loved his Cuban "especial" sandwich--bread was fresh, the meats, ham and pork, were plentiful. Waitress was pleasant. Only negative, and it's minor, is that the soda I ordered was not delivered after I ordered it--after a reasonable time our food was delivered and I cancelled the beverage as I no longer wanted it. Good value and nice addition to the mostly non-ethnic restaurants in this area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morales Cuban Cafe also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing