We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Addition to Punta Gorda/SW Florida Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Opus - CLOSED

Opus
Price range: $15 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Sullivan
Description: Our goal is to bring outstanding food quality and warm, friendly customer service together under one roof to create an outstanding dining experience unique to this area. In a world where rushed meals have become an icon of contemporary culture, the unparalleled luxury of a relaxed dinner spent at OPUS Restaurant will reaffirm that food is indeed a celebration of life!
Florida, USA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Superb Addition to Punta Gorda/SW Florida Dining”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We have been to Opus numerous times since its opening, both lunch and dinner, and can report that it has immediately gone to the top echelon of fine restaurants in Southwest Florida. The menu sets it apart from most local restaurants, and all items tried to date have been prepared beautifully. The service staff is most professional and helpful and ready to knowingly suggest both menu items and complementary wines. The modern decor provides a comfortable surrounding, irrespective of whether one is there for business or pleasure. All in all, a wonderful addition to an evolving downtown that offers something for everyone.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharkFlorida_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    32
    17
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
“Well Worth the Travel!”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

My wife and I are true foodies (she wrote a cooking column in Louisiana for 12 years). We have dined during the evening at OPUS at least five times since its opening this summer and have enjoyed each experience. I especially enjoy the varied fish dishes. The presentation was unique and the meals were seasoned for those who enjoy food, not typical of the fare served to the plentiful seniors in Southwest Florida. I don't mean spicy, but seasoned food that enhances a diners enjoyment of the meal. We've had the paté, the spring rolls, and the tuna ceviche, all excellent appetizers. We'll be back frequently.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pop9604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An amazing menu with a genius chef and wonderful staff”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

If you want fine dining in a quiet, sophisticated space with comfortable ambiance, professional, friendly, knowledgable staff and some of the best dishes you've ever had, then visit the newest restaurant in Punta Gorda, FL - OPUS. You will have a difficult time choosing from the outstanding, but not overwhelming, menu. The menu changes frequently and seasonally, but it also has several signature dishes. You will be completely satisfied with your overall experience at OPUS restaurant!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reevessp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wedding night dinner for 20”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We had our "reception" dinner here. The service was great and very accommodating to our wedding party. The food was the best I've had any where with in 50 miles of Punta Gorda. The chilean sea bass melted in my mouth. The filet I was told was very tender and my new husband loved the scallops ( I think he ate 6 himself ;-) We will be returning the next time in town (which will be soon since my mother is local). THANKS OPUS for a wonderful night

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrankieBlue05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The food at Opus is delicious but it is the overall experience -- decor, service, menu choices, ambiance -- that makes it a must-see place. Punta Gorda and Southwest Florida are lucky to have a high-end restaurant that is so accessible. The complimentary appetizer taste is a nice touch and gets the evening off on the right foot. For a new place, the staff seems very knowledgeable and is able to make helpful recommendations. The wine list has adequate selections without being overwhelming. Likewise, the menu has good variety without being over-ambitious. What it does, it does very well. We are looking forward to making this a regular spot when we want good food and a great experience.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank silverk1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opus also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing