We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite place to eat breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dean's South of the Border

Dean's South of the Border
Ranked #7 of 156 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Dean's South of the Border has been a local favorite since 1992, family owned & operated it offers something for everyone from Tex Mex to classic American favorites. Dean's offers indoor/outdoor dining, entertainment 7 days a week, full sports bar, kids menu, happy hour, early bird, daily specials and late night menu. There's always a party going on at Dean's!
1 review
“Favorite place to eat breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Deans has the best breakfast in town. Brenda Ryan is the best. She always knows what you want, even if you don't... Love how friendly everyone is, especially Brenda Ryan....

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kbstokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean S, General Manager at Dean's South of the Border, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoy our breakfast at Deans and Brenda. We want to thank you for being a consistent customer! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Sincerely,
Carrie Dillow
Deans South of the Border, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    275
    110
    40
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Service & Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Empoura was our server tonight. She was very efficient in everything she did. We were not their 20 seconds and she was right their letting us know she would be our server. Very knowledgeable about the menu and helpful with our choices. We had Nachos for an app. that were bar none the best we ever had. My wife had the Taco dinner and I had A Burrito with quaso cheese. Oh my God The Best again. We had a few cocktails, they don't cheat on the pour. When we were done, the check came. Once the credit card was put into the book, Empoura was right their to process the payment, I hate to wait when i'm trying to give someone money, she was spot on

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mac m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean S, General Manager at Dean's South of the Border, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
We are so glad that Ampora and the food were spot on for you. We honestly try and please every customer as we did you! We thank you so much for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and will be sure to pass the kind words on to Amp!
Sincerley,
Carrie Dillow
Deans South of the Border, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Homey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

We are regulars for breakfast cuz of Brenda Ryan. It's like going to see a sister. It's like Norm goin to Cheers

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsD12-2-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean S, General Manager at Dean's South of the Border, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Aww thanks for taking the time to review us on trip advisor. We are a hometown establishment and I love that you compared us to Cheers. Brenda adds so much love to our dining room! We have to thank you for being so loyal to our establishment and we look forward to seeing you real soon!
Sincerely,
Carrie Dillow
Deans South of the Border, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Enjoyment for all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

I enjoyed the staff' friendliness & prompt service. Joe & Rachael aw well as the others made you feel at home. The food was excellent at reasonable prices. In a pleasant, safe & convenient location to other beautiful attractions. ♥

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kristalamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean S, General Manager at Dean's South of the Border, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on trip advisor. We are so glad you got to enjoy Rachel and Joe the crazy duo. They are a fun team behind the bar. We aim to keep our prices reasonable and are very happy that you feel safe and comfortable in our environment.
We look forward to seeing you agai soon in the near future!
Sincerely,
Carrie Dillow
Deans South of the Border, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Our first time and we loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

My husband and I visited for the first this past Saturday, we sat at the bar for drinks and lunch, the bartender Karen approached with menus and for our drink order immediately, introducing herself and Brittani as being the two that would be taking care of us , we liked that! It's nice to be on a first name basis.... They were both very attentive & personable, great personalities! Also gave us suggestions on the menu, and insight to the mixtures in the frozen drink machines...I had the blue one thank you Brittani for the suggestion. The food was outstanding we had the wings & pork chops that Karen suggested, We will definatly be back and look forward to bringing guests with us!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RK050914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean S, General Manager at Dean's South of the Border, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hello!!! We love having first time customers. As you probably gathered as you sat at the bar we are a locals hangout. We love when new faces come in and love the unique and friendly atmosphere that our girls bring to each and every one of our patrons. I will be sure to tell both Karen and Brittany that you enjoyed their company! We look forward to seeing you in the near future. Thank you for taking the time to share of your experience on Trip Advisor.
Sincerely,
Carrie Dillow
Deans South of the Border
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dean's South of the Border also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dean's South of the Border? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing