We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Fun Bar with Breat Value for Money”

Dean's South of the Border
Ranked #8 of 162 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Dean's South of the Border has been a local favorite since 1992, family owned & operated it offers something for everyone from Tex Mex to classic American favorites. Dean's offers indoor/outdoor dining, entertainment 7 days a week, full sports bar, kids menu, happy hour, early bird, daily specials and late night menu. There's always a party going on at Dean's!
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Fun Bar with Breat Value for Money”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have been revelling to the Charlotte Harbour from the UK from the last 5 years making many visits to local bars and restaurants and this is our favourite. Will not be bettered for value,Ok its not "Fine dinning" but great lively atmosphere and friendly staff make Deans a must visit

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ourgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    293
    118
    43
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Best Mexican food in SW Florida. Burrito Verde is excellent. I could't find a decent burrito until now. Restaurant is located in downtown Punta Gorda.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polk County, FL
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ole!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had a good meal here. I was surprised to have to pay extra for chips and salsa. Hubby and I shared a two meat fajita plate and it was plenty. Decor is fun. Murals on outside of building are cool. It was early on a Monday evening so it was quiet. Server was good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvCObest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida, United States
1 review
“bad service cold food”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

i been here 4or5 times bfore itsok this time ordered beers and chips never got chips and salsa dinner came my rice was hard and cold beans were cold they charged full price will not go back

  • Visited May 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tex Mex at its best!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Fish tacos, chili rellanos,and most burritos are the best! Portions are huge, so come hungry. They have a band most evenings that's ear splitting so get there well before 8 pm if you want to eat in peace.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dean's South of the Border also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dean's South of the Border? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing