We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY GOOD FOOD”
Review of Torch Bistro

Torch Bistro
Ranked #17 of 165 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Airport Road
Description: Every city has an up and coming restaurant where the atmosphere is great and the chef is a superstar. These restaurants are hot for one reason, they ensure your dining experience will be unforgettable. If you're looking for great service and creative, delicious food, you're sure to find it at Torch Bar and Grill. Welcome to Torch Bar and Grill. You have just found the only Punta Gorda restaurant with fine dining, in a causal atmosphere. Being one of many Punta Gorda restaurants, we are known as THE Place to go for Food, Service and great Quality. There are no other restaurants in Punta Gorda that have as many ongoing values for you as Torch Bar and Grill. Begin your dining experience with a custom made to order cocktail, exactly how you like it, from our bar while your meal is prepared especially for you. We also feature Nyotaimori is a well-accepted and practiced tradition in Japan. It is recognized as an art form in Japan and has been part of the Geisha culture dating back hundreds of years... It is based on the idea that sushi is made to delight. Reservation need to be made 2 weeks in advance. ***Please see our menu on Facebook Torch Bar and Grill***
Reviewed March 4, 2011

We planned to meet friends about halfway between Ft Meyers and Englewood, FL. Found excellent recommendation for Torch Bistro on Trip Advisor. The service was very good with a friendly waitress and the food was excellent. All four of us ordered the same meal so I can not attest to the other items available. My only complaint was the bus boy who came to the table 2 or 3 times asking, are you finished in order to pick up the individual plates. We always prefer that all people at our table be finished with their meal before they ask to remove dinner plates. Prices were also resonable for the excellent quality food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Billyboy324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager1339, General Manager at Torch Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2011

Thank you for your review. We strive very hard to make your dining experience a very pleasant one. I will address the bus boys as to the situation.
Thank You
Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

390 - 394 of 413 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2011

The Osso Bucco at Torch Bistro has set a new standard for comparison. It was outstanding. The chicken potpie was piping hot with chunks of chicken in a creamy sauce topped with a light, flaky crust. The menu selection at Torch is so diverse, it was difficult to choose just one entree. Everyone in our party of 6 raved over their choices and all agreed it was difficult to choose just one entree. The dessert menu is just as varied, making it difficult to choose just one item, so our table of 6 ordered three items -- all delicious. Excellent food at bargain prices as the entree items ranged from $13.00 to $18.00 and, if you pay in cash, you get a 5% discount. Can't wait to go again!

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lois062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

We dined at the Torch Bistro on Saturday night 02/19 and we are still talking about our wonderful meals. There were six of us, so I was able to try a variety of menu choices. For starters we had the calamari. It was light, crispy and tossed with a soy + spice that was outstanding. I had the strip steak and it was perfect. Tasty, tender served with mashed potato and asparagus. I tried the soft shell crab - mmmm mm good! Mother in law reluctantly shared a bite because she thought it was the best ever. The pork osso bucco was tender, succulent and a menu treat. Desert was especially good. My favorite was the rich, creamy key lime pie. The atmosphere was sophisticated but not too dressy. The service was prompt and professional. Ashley is a real professional. Punta Gorda is something of a restaurant dessert, so we were all thrilled to find such a fun, tasty affordable restaurant. Can't wait to visit PG again so we can eat at the Torch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank nys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

We looked for a restaurant near the hotel after a long day. The menu was very nice with a lot of variety. You can bring your own wine; the corkage fee was minimal. The portions were generous. Our server was absolutely delightful. The only problem was that the restaurant said it catered to families and kids but there was no kids menu to speak of. Ordering for a picky 11 year old from an adult menu can be challenging. If they had a kids menu or even half portions, it would be perfect.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Floresv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager1339, General Manager at Torch Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2011

Thank you for you review. We have taken your coments about the children and are working on a better menu for them. Thank you again
Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Visited for lunch with high expectations based on previous reviews. We were very disappointed by the mediocre quality of food and shabby service. Two side orders were reversed and we were asked if we could simply eat off each others plates rather than have our server fix the problem. We suggested that this was not acceptable and it was fixed. Also, I asked for an additional napkin and our server pointed to the one on my lap. She never helped even though the steak sandwich was extrely messy to eat. Yucca fries were terrible and the other meals were just ok. Order took exceptional long. I would not return to the Torch Bistro.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hokiedad_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager1339, Manager at Torch Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2011

As per my conversation with you I am sorry for the treatment you received. We strive very hard (as noted on all the other reviews) to make your experiance with us a pleasant one. The actions of the server did not refect company policy or the service we expect our customers to receive. I have personally taken care of the problem and can guarantee this will never happen again. Please contact me on your next trip down. Thank you for your review and you time in responding to my inquiry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torch Bistro also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Torch Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing