We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem In Punta Gorda” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Torch Bistro

Torch Bistro
Ranked #26 of 156 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, Grill, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Airport Road
Description: Every city has an up and coming restaurant where the atmosphere is great and the chef is a superstar. These restaurants are hot for one reason, they ensure your dining experience will be unforgettable. If you're looking for great service and creative, delicious food, you're sure to find it at Torch Bar and Grill. Welcome to Torch Bar and Grill. You have just found the only Punta Gorda restaurant with fine dining, in a causal atmosphere. Being one of many Punta Gorda restaurants, we are known as THE Place to go for Food, Service and great Quality. There are no other restaurants in Punta Gorda that have as many ongoing values for you as Torch Bar and Grill. Begin your dining experience with a custom made to order cocktail, exactly how you like it, from our bar while your meal is prepared especially for you. We also feature Nyotaimori is a well-accepted and practiced tradition in Japan. It is recognized as an art form in Japan and has been part of the Geisha culture dating back hundreds of years... It is based on the idea that sushi is made to delight. Reservation need to be made 2 weeks in advance. ***Please see our menu on Facebook Torch Bar and Grill***
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Gem In Punta Gorda”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Based on other "reviewers" we took guests the Torch Bistro for dinner. The rating was spot on. We felt welcomed. The food and service was terrific. We'll be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    76
    33
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Fl
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place in Punta Gorda to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Heidi & Chef Sean are one of kind owners. They make you feel welcome everytime you step in the door. Ask for the booth in the bar if you like to be wher all the action is.. or set at table where you see the chef's in action... Just a great little place where they make you feel part of the family. LOVE it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank dgiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“High energy spot in laid back Punta Gorda”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Torch has the look and atmosphere of a high-energy, fast moving New York lounge. Maybe a little too high energy. The waitstaff is certainly competent, but a little in-your-face, a little loud, a little pushy (did I mention New York?). The food, however, is excellent. I had wonderfully fresh caprese salad with an excellent balsamic reduction dressing. I was lucky they had a half-duck special that evening, and it was falling off the bone tender, but still with a crisp skin.
I would certainly go back for the food, but I would prefer a more relaxing ambience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bnhpgfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Recommended by our Daughter and son in law”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

4 of us went to Torch on a Sat night. Nice place, waiter was very attentive. Everythig ala carte and medium priced. We had been recommended to order the Pot Roast and Rib Eye Steak. They didn't have the rib eye but substituted T Bone (this was at 6:15PM on a Saturday Evening). The appettizer of Calimare was outstanding! The salad of spinich and goat cheese with a great dressing was also excellent and 2 of us were able to split it (as we did the Calimare). However, the Pot Roast was very dry and didn't taste freshly made. The steak was good advertised at 16oz but I would say it was mabe 12 oz (but good as compared to Outback) but not a real good steakhouse. Both came with mashed potatos and stringy carrots and zuccini which was good. The bread was excellent. We didn't have desert. Without drinks, bill came to $53 (not cheap but not inexpensive either).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Company Christmas Party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I attended our Christmas party at Torch Bistro. First stepping in we were taken back by the beautiful decor... from the beads hanging from ceiling to floor to seperate the rooms, to the beautiful artwork displayed on the walls. The service was more then what could have been expected with the most courteous staff greating us with smiles and warm welcomes. The food was simply amazing, not only were the portions large, but the food was cooked to perfection. What a fun, warm and welcoming environment. We will definetly be visiting Torch Bistro in the future.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torch Bistro also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Torch Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing