We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner is a hit!”
Review of Santhinos - CLOSED

Santhinos
Price range: $7 - $32
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner is a hit!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

As mentioned before I wrote a review for lunch and said would return again for dinner due to lunch being so good. We were lucky to make it in with no reservation on a Wednesday night. If you have not heard about Santhinos ribs on Wednesday nights you must be hiding under a rock! The ribs are meaty, moist and fall completely off the bone. I suggest getting in early to secure a rack. My partner had the special that night of a ravioli with a sambuca cream sauce and shrimp, on the recommendation of the server and she raved about the flavor. Another recommendation was the Thai calamari, and I highly suggest it. We decided to skip dessert although they all looked wonderful. Sticking true to my word I came back and reviewed dinner and absolutely loved it. Dinner for two with wine and appetizer came to $67, can't complain about that!

Helpful?
Thank PerfectIngredie... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branden A, Manager at Santhinos, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your review we value your support and glad you enjoyed both lunch and dinner at our establishment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    35
    17
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Uninspired and slipping”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Santhino's was opened in downtown Punta Gorda in 2002 on Taylor Street and moved to its current location in a strip shopping center just outside the main downtown area a few years later. Started as a Peruvian restaurant, it was later sold and then morphed into a more Italian style restaurant. We were frequent diners originally and found the food and ambiance creative and inviting. We are somewhat less frequent diners since it changed ownership and we found it in the past to be reasonably good. Our most recent visit, though, was disappointing.
The menu prices for entrees run from the mid-teens for chicken and to the low thirties for some specialties. We started with their calimari which was very nicely done and then had entrees of veal piccatta and a special Peruvian strip steak with shrimp and other mixed seafood. The veal was good without being very good; the steak was tougher than it should have been but done nicely (medium rare). The vegetables were potato slices in a cream sauce and mix of fresh green beans with carrots and they were both bland and unappealing. The sauce for the steak was a spicy tomato and it was fair and overpowered the seafood. The presentation of both our dishes was uninspired.
We did try the fradiavolo sauce which was appropriately hot, but the marinara we tasted had far too much cayenne and the other seasonings got lost in the shuffle.
The service was attentive; the wine list was fine. The bar is small but this is not a place with any bar scene.
There are several other restaurants in the area that compare to Santhino's in price point and atmosphere. Maybe we hit an off-night in the kitchen, which happens on occasion, but our food there just did not measure up to our expectations. We will dine there again and hope things change for the better soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank writer48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branden A, Manager at Santhinos, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you writer48 for your review, we will make sure we correct the details that you have mentioned. We do strive for excellence and hope that your next visit will be 100% perfect!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great dinner, great value”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We enjoyed a nice evening with friends. Service was top notch with our waiter being knowledgable of the usual menu and specials as well as the wine list. In fact, my first preference in wine was not available but our wiater's recommendation was perfect in price and quality. The food was excellent with enough to take home for the following night. We will return soon.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank dicw36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branden A, Manager at Santhinos, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you dicw36 for your review of our restaurant. We hope you enjoyed your dinner the night after as much as you did the night you dined! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We had visitors from New York and went out to dinner. Everybody had something different and all was wonderful. The seafood is fantastic especially the calamari and the grouper with seafood. Servings were more than enough,leftovers are great! Will definitly go back again. The server was also very good. Food was served hot and we didnt feel rushed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reino66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branden A, Manager at Santhinos, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you reino for your gracious review hopefully we see you and your friends again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“An Excellent Meal - Quiet Atmosphere - No Bar Crowd”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Santhinos is a family-owned & operated restaurant outside the downtown dining area. We knew several other diners and assume they have a mainly local clientele. The apparent food quality, taste, preparation and presentation are all outstanding. We particularly enjoyed the calamari (coated quite lightly and nicely seasoned) and portobello mushroom appetizers - both very delicious! Everyone was very satisfied with their main courses. The waiter recommended a tasty and reasonably priced bottle of wine. The service when we visited (a Friday evening) was a bit slow, but we will visit Santhinos again soon!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Island_Gypsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branden A, Manager at Santhinos, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you Island gypsy for taking the time to review our restaurant, we hope to see you again soon in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santhinos also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing