We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something has changed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Perfect Caper

The Perfect Caper
Reserve with OpenTable
The Perfect Caper is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 156 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Nesbit St.
Punta Gorda
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Something has changed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

This used to be our favorite restaurant for a special occasion. We went last night for such an event and the experience has resulted in our not wanting to go there again.
We were seated in a main thoroughfare near a noisy bar.
We were rushed as to drink choice. Twice we asked to be given more time to decide on our meal choices before making a wine choice. The first bottle of wine that we chose was not available. We chose a second bottle after which our waitress was instructed by her manager to tell us that it was a sweet wine. Strange for a Savignon blanc. Stranger still that he had no idea as to our tastes nor our dinner choices. We settled on the very last bottle of a particular red wine. It was thin and left a bitter taste. We returned it and chose another white. The wine list is extremely limited at best and when there are wines unavailable it makes for a difficult wine experience. I have read reviews of the wines in question. The white chosen initially makes no mention of excessive sweetness and the red had a high rating with a very fruity taste.
Our appetizers were good.
I ordered the Faroe salmon with Odon noodles and shitake mushrooms and baby bok choy. I have never seen such a dismal presentation. One 4-5 ounce piece of beige salmon on a bed of brown noodles. Three pieces of shitake mushrooms graced the noodles and it appeared that the baby bok choy was as rare as the wines we wanted.
I have no idea what has happened at the Perfect Caper to result in such a turn about in terms of food but I will not be going back to see if it has been remedied.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bananavan52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    82
    33
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Liberty
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, but could improve on "soft touches"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We are new to the area, so took our neighbors recommendation for this venue. Food was great, nicely presented and our server Noelle was excellent. However, it would have been nice, after having told them a couple times it was a "big" birthday and then our 40th anniversary the next day, would have been nice to put a candle in ANYTHING....a brussel sprout, a sweet potato fry. We were not expecting something for nothing, especially after having spent over $100 + for dinner....just a nice touch to make a person feel that this was the right selection for a place to celebrate.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gemini105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious Dining with Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

As full time residents of the city of Punta Gorda, FL it is rather easy for my wife and I to choose a special restaurant for a special occasion. The Perfect Caper is “perfect” for any of our special dates, visiting company, family requirements and personal enjoyment.
This local restaurant, located in the downtown district, has CLASS. It offers a pleasant ambiance in a cozy atmosphere. The dining crowd actually wears appropriate clothing rather than bare skin, beachwear and waterfront attire. How refreshing.
The menu is very cuisine diverse and any/all selections are delicious. The food is served hot. Not room temperature or cool. That tells me the prepared meal is fresh and constructed after you order it, not earlier on. I severely like that attribute! What is cold is the crisp Chardonnay. It could not be better.
The initial greeting and table service is friendly, attentive, timely and very professional. No one rushes your dinner. You are served and not directed. Yet any/all service is as immediate as you may want it.
If you are fortunate enough to be in the Great City of Punta Gorda, FL and desire a fantastic dining experience, make a reservation at the “Caper” and bon appetite!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KV1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
815 reviews
303 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 499 helpful votes
“VERY ATTENTIVE SERVICE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Visited on a Saturday night with friends. Firstly, this is a difficult place to find even though it's on a main road. From the outside it looks like a bunker or warehouse and the parking lot next to it has a number of potholes so beware! On the inside it can feel claustrophobic due to there being no windows which I found strange for an upscale establishment (reminds me of La Stanza in old Englewood - similar external appearance which belies the interior). The bar area takes up only a small area and feels cramped. And another strange thing - we were told the second of the two for one Happy Hour drinks would be served just before we went to our table and I couldn't work that one out i.e. what if we'd wanted more drinks?

Once seated at our table the first problem was deciding on the wine and personally I thought the list was not extensive enough. Also surprised there was no Merlot on offer. The house white (Chardonnay) was better than expected (which I had at happy hour) but wanted a red with my meal. The Pinot Noir was not to my liking and I don't drink Cabernet, which really only left one of the Malbec options as preference. However, thinking about it later perhaps the waitress thought we wanted by the glass but we would have been happy to have a bottle (only certain wines are offered by the glass).

The bread was really good and we had to control ourselves not too eat too much! All ordered steak (three NY strip/one filet) which were cooked as ordered. Overall we were happy with the quality and presentation of the meals.

Table service throughout was excellent and the restaurant was practically full and so guess that's indicative of it's popularity. Pleasure to see most patrons dressed appropriately and not wearing shorts/beachwear type outfits.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank nnmercman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Unexpected Elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

In town for a convention, my friend and I went walking near the Event Center to find a place for dinner. After two disappointing stops, one an hour wait and the other too loud, we asked a local woman where the best food downtown could be found. She suggested The Perfect Caper just down the street, ironically right where we had parked. It was an unassuming building but as we walked in we knew it was a hidden gem. When we saw the menu we were sure. The prix fix offerings were wonderfully adventurous at $25 with the option to add two glasses of wine for an added $10. We were hooked. The pate first course was wonderful followed by a ginger salmon on a bed of noodles. Gourmet food at minimum prices. This meal made the Convention unconventional and not just tolerable. The visit by the owner/cook was a delight, but you'll have to experience that yourself. Bon Appetite.

Helpful?
1 Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Perfect Caper also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Perfect Caper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing