We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dependably good food, nice ambiance an attentive wait staff!!”
Review of The Perfect Caper

The Perfect Caper
Reserve with OpenTable
The Perfect Caper is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 162 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Nesbit St.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dependably good food, nice ambiance an attentive wait staff!!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

we have been here several times and always have a great meal, Luncheon steak salad is Eric and scallops for Di,miner is a favorite

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carolyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    87
    36
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“1st class, quality dining”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

All good here, nothing to dislike.....excellent food, good service and friendly local bar scene. Reservations would be suggested.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Treat yourself!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

One of our favorite restaurants to go to. Consistently excellent food & service. You can either go for the casual side with the best burgers or dine fine & have a choice of some different things to eat. Or the simple Momma's chicken is excellent too. The duck & lamb are excellent too. It's all good!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
235 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT LUNCH”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were in Punta Gorda the other day and decided to give this restaurant a try based on the very good reviews it had. It is, indeed, a great place.

My wife had the Tenderloin Tacos, and they were served with a beautiful piece of tenderloin - I mean a nice chunk over 1 inch high and about 2 inches in diameter. Nice.

I had a superb Bean Soup and a 1/2 Chicken Salad Sandwich. Delicious.

Any downers? Well, the decor is a bit tired and retro. It clearly needs some perking up.

S

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jdeppman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
251 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Back again, and another mixed review”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

While hubby was away on a trip, I used up the end of a Perfect Caper gift certificate and was generally glad that I did. There aren't too many places around here where a woman can comfortably eat out alone and pamper herself, but this is one.

I ate myself silly, indulging even in the wonderful bread and dipping sauce--which might just be the best thing on the menu other than the little dessert treat that they always give you. First, the baked oysters appetizer special--the plumpest, richest oysters I've ever had, with a delightful spinach accompaniment. Tuscan kale salad with apricots, goat cheese, and almonds, in a lemony vinaigrette, sounds weird, but the tastes complemented each other perfectly. And for my entree I chose the cobia special, in part so that I'd know what I'd get if I ever managed to catch one in the Harbor. The sauce on the whipped potatoes was overwhelmingly salty, though, and everything was swimming in it. And the cobia was folded over, concealing its thin end, with skin left on that was too strong tasting for me. So, once again, a mixed review for the Caper--which might be why its overall rating has slipped a little.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzymobile47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Perfect Caper also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Perfect Caper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing