We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!! Great!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Swansboro, NC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay!! Great!!!”
Reviewed March 3, 2009

I would definetly recommend this hotel. It is brand new and is appointed very high end. The baths are large with walk in showers and beautiful bathtubs. Marble and granite throughout. The bed is wonderful. Great linens. The service was wonderful. The rooftop bar offers a great Tapas menu. They also offered one evening of music. The restaurant has a great menu. Stay here, you will love it.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    117
    44
    26
    19
See reviews for
128
276
26
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

This hotel was beautiful and spotless. The staff was wonderful. We have family in the area and this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SavannahJpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Park, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2009

Punta Gorda, really? I am stunned. Total shock and awe! There is no possible way I would ever image such a hotel of this magnitude would be in a small, rural town. Punta Gorda?!?! I would expect a hotel of this quality to be in Orlando or Tampa.

The hotel is simply a delight. I travel frequently, and I was not looking forward to this trip as I have been here years ago and there was nothing here. The lobby is warm and inviting; the staff is efficient; the rooms are very well appointed.

There is a fabulous outdoor bar on the roof of the hotel, which I found be as nifty of a bar I have ever seen. Nice touch.

The bathroom is spot on! GREAT walk-in shower and stand alone tub.

The hotel offers LCD television in each room with Hi-definition channels, and the hotel offers free wi-fi.

Way to go guys!! This is truly a hidden gem!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcribb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2008

I had a short business meeting in Punta Gorda, but knew nothing about the area. My wife accompanied me on this trip, so I wanted to find a nice room. I booked a room at the Wyvern based on the one review available. The hotel is new (open less than two weeks at the time of my stay) and that was a factor in my choice. The hotel is privately owned and is built to a higher standard than most. Being new the exterior and interior are in excellent condition, but also very nicely designed. We were given a spacious suite with the nicest bathroom of any hotel that I have stayed in. The bathroom featured both a whirlpool tub and separate marble shower. The bathroom floors, tub surround and shower were finished in Carrera Marble, while the vanity top was dark granite. All the fixtures and finishes were of high quality, and the lighting was excellent. The rest of the room was extremely nice as well, with a comfortable bed and pillows. The linens and fabrics were of good quality. The Hotel is located in a quiet area, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We ate breakfast in the restaurant, and found the food to our liking and the service good. I can recommend this hotel without reservation. I hope the management can maintain the excellent condition. Really good hotels are hard to find.

  • Liked — The quality and cleanliness
  • Disliked — No deficiencies noted
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottSeigmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2008

Its rare any more that you find a hotel room at any price that is clean, well thought out, user friendly, elegant, etc. The rooms in this hotel are impeccable. By far the most comfortable bed in any hotel I have ever stayed in. The hotel is brand new but it was clearly built to last the ages. Nothing is second rate, and the bathrooms truly first class. Every little detail was thought of. They even have free wi/fi.

Pete

  • Liked — The Bathrooms, beds, pillows and towels!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank petesmith121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
0.2 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
0.3 mi away
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
#4 of 7 in Punta Gorda
494 reviews
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda

Property: The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
Address: 101 E Retta Esplanade, Punta Gorda, FL 33950-3637
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the Punta Gorda area is simply breathtaking — The Wyvern Hotel is proud to welcome guests who appreciate luxury without pretense. Our 63 room boutique hotel is impeccably appointed with every comfort you could desire for an ideal getaway to this remarkable location on Southwest Florida’s Gulf Coast. Our meeting and event space is ideal for everything from romantic wedding receptions to corporate gatherings of all types, uniquely paired with our in-house LuLu Restaurant & Sky Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing