We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice Hotel Excellent Rooftop Bar” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel Excellent Rooftop Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Relatively New Hotel, vibrant area. The rooms are clean and well appointed, we had a "Superior king room" which was about the size of what I would consider a standard king room. The downstairs resturant bar was a sleeper. We only ate breakfast here which was disappointing the room was dark although ample windows would have made more inviting for the morning had the drapes been open. The portions were very small service adequate. The rooftop bar was excellent, the service was first class. I must say though, our room was two levels below we bothered by the noise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    96
    30
    20
    13
See reviews for
107
229
22
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Clean and comfy rooms. Great linens! Large bathroom. Parking difficult due to things going on around hotel. Lots of music noise from outside restaurant and concert until after 11 p.m.
Breakfast service in hotel restaurant was very slow.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on west side of building. Rooms on east side are noisy due to music from Mexican rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-Lazare
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed at the Wyvern only one night, the last night of our Florida vacation, to be close to the Punta Gorda airport. We arrived without a reservation and without knowing the hotel. We were thrilled with our find! The room was modern and clean, the bed was comfortable and what a nice added bonus: the rooftop terrace! Too bad we were only staying one night!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed at the Wyvern Punta Gorda in early February on business. What a find! This is one of the nicest properties I stayed in during my recent business trip to Florida, squarely beating the Renaissance Boca Raton by strides.

The rooms are what make this hotel what it is, although the roof-top terrace is quite lovely. My room was extremely large, with great appointments, a fantastic bed with great linens, and a huge bathroom. The separate soaking tub and huge glassed in shower were wonderful. The hotel was a fantastic value for the money. My only complaints were that the restaurant stopped serving food too early, and didn't begin breakfast service early enough to meet my needs. Otherwise, wonderful property. I hope to stay here again soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skiscubamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

After a rocky start to our relationship with the Wyvern thanks to the blaring music coming from the bar across the parking lot on weekend nights, we've learned to request harbor-side rooms and have quickly fallen back in love with this hotel. The rooms are spacious, spotless and are tastefully decorated and well-appointed. Super-comfy beds and high-quality linens. Excellent water pressure and yummy-smelling bath products! Lots of room to spread out and relax.

The staff are STELLAR! We've had a positive encounter with at least a dozen of them so far and have walked away with the impression that each and every one of them genuinely likes their job and wants to assist! Front desk personnel is happy to greet us and get us checked in/out and on our way.

The upstairs lounge and pool area offers a stupendous bay view and terrific service as well. What a place to catch the sunset. Our meals at Lulu have all been wonderful and relaxing. On our stay last month, with a 2-day notice, chef took a request and prepared our favorite risotto dish from a previous visit (even though it was not on the menu!). Once again, happy, service-oriented staff :-)

We are heading back down next week for our second week-long stay of the winter and are so excited to get settled back in to our Punta Gorda "home" :-)

Room Tip: Rooms facing the harbor offer great views and no music noise from the nightclub across the parking l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen-o_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level Contributor
307 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here two nights while we celebrated our anniversary. The Wyvern is a clean, virtually new, well-appointed hotel. Rooms are very nice, in particular the mattress and sheets were of very high quality and very comfortable. Our room had two comfortable reading chairs and a safe, a most welcome amenity. Rooftop bar is welcoming, and the view is nice. Service is good, and drink prices are very reasonable. We did not have an opportunity to try the restaurant.
One complaint: parking is woefully inadequate in the evenings.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My room was enormous - 15'x18' - and elegant. Bed plushly wrapped in fine linens. A loveseat and an armchair grouped around a low table - perfect for relaxing. And the bath! A huge 12'x15' expanse of marble and tile accented with dark wood. The shower easily held two. A deep soaking tub the perfect place to pamper myself after a long run. This is the sort of room I can't afford in other cities - nice to find it here at a bargain price!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPhoebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
0.2 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
0.3 mi away
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
#3 of 7 in Punta Gorda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda

Property: The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
Address: 101 E Retta Esplanade, Punta Gorda, FL 33950-3637
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the Punta Gorda area is simply breathtaking — The Wyvern Hotel is proud to welcome guests who appreciate luxury without pretense. Our 63 room boutique hotel is impeccably appointed with every comfort you could desire for an ideal getaway to this remarkable location on Southwest Florida’s Gulf Coast. Our meeting and event space is ideal for everything from romantic wedding receptions to corporate gatherings of all types, uniquely paired with our in-house LuLu Restaurant & Sky Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing