We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, good rooms but you can't sleep here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
South Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good rooms but you can't sleep here”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

I'm still at the hotel as I write, leaving tomorrow. My impressions:
PROS:
Very nice rooms, well decorated. Spacious, well lit bathroom with really nice shower and a jacuzzzi tub too. All around clean and well maintained rooms. WONDERFUL bed and pillows, good tv. Good wireless internet access. Good restaurant with excellent (fast) room service. Very nice staff too, good location in Punta Gorda.

CONS:
No sundries shop, only a mini bar for cold drinks/snacks with exorbitant pricing.
Limited bell service; they'll help you on request but don't expect someone to be waiting to help you.
Here comes the deal breaker: On Fri-Sat nights from 7-11 they have a band playing on the rooftop and it's impossible to sleep. I am 2 floors below the roof and that band and it's bass sounds are just ridiculous here. I completely understand the desire to make money at their rooftop bar but if this is a hotel first and foremost then there should be NO compromising the reasonable comfort of it's guests. You can't watch TV, read, surf the net, sleep or enjoy ANYTHING peacefully with that noise reverberating in your room. I had to get up today at 5:30am to go fishing... couldn't get to sleep until after 11 last night because of the noise.

If you don't mind the band or if you arent going to be in the room until after 11 on Fri/Sat, the place is really nice. Otherwise, avoid at all costs. Stay during the week or anytime a band isn't playing. Staff is well aware of the issue but powerless to do anything about it

Room Tip: Stay away far as possible from rooftop Fri/Sat!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Dive4Blood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    114
    42
    25
    18
See reviews for
124
270
26
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

What a beautiful hotel, mom and I stayed there for 4 days and loved every minute. The staff is wonderful, LuLu's was fabulous, "thanks Steven" and the hotel staff was great. Only 2 things I would add is no coffee in the room, and the mini bar fridge, although it was a nice touch, there wasn't any place to even put a bottle of water...we had a great stay and would stay there again. As for the music, we were on the 5th floor and never heard a sound from the roof bar, what a classy touch.

Room Tip: it was a little more expensive to stay on the bay side of the hotel and I had already booked, so we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

First overnight stay in Punta Gorda although we had a meeting there several years ago. Had no idea where we were staying until we got there as arrangements were made by the group leader for the business meeting we were attending. Not knowing what to expect and having never heard of the Wyvern my wife and I were more than pleasantly surprised and pleased with the accommodations.

The place is small but very nice. The room was beautiful especially the bathroom with both a shower and bath (which we didn't use, lol). Everything is new. We met our group for dinner the first night we arrived at LuLus which had great, friendly service and good food. The next day was spent in the meeting room off the lobby. Before an offsite dinner later that evening we had a few drinks at the rooftop bar which is very nice. Nice bartender named Kelly served us.

The pool is also on the rooftop. We didn't use it nor see anyone else using it. The water seemed cold but it's a tiny little pool anyway.

We ate offsite with a big group at Harpoon Harrys which was fine for what it was, a bar/restaurant on the water. Later we hit Dean's a local bar/restaurant right next to the hotel which was a blast.

We plan to be in the area from time to time now on business and i wouldn't dare choose to stay anywhere else as we were very pleased with our stay. Remember the place is small but a really nice place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockface67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Do not stay here at any cost if you wish to sleep.
They have incredibly loud music playing past midnight every Friday and Saturday night. I stayed 3 floors down from this and could still make out every word being sung. When I rang to complain about this, the only answer they could come up with was to offer ear plugs.
They also have the single rudest receptionist I have ever experienced in all of my travels.
This is definitely one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in.
The hotel may look nice, but what's the point if you can't sleep?
I cannot believe it has received good reviews.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shakeypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Great hotel. My second time there and really enjoyed my visit. Very clean rooms and an awesome roof top bar. Food in LuLu restaurant is good. Staff very friendly. Would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marietta,ga
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

This is a lovely hotel with a very sweet staff. Our only complaints are the low water pressure(hard to rinse your hair) and the waterproof mattress cover made me feel like I was camping out on an air mattress. Breakfast staff was in need of an extra hand but managed well considering. Light sleepers may have trouble with thin walls and night club on roof. We will probably try the Sheraton next time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gellen62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
539 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Awesome hotel. Mike the Bell Hop is awesome. Very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfy. The pillows are awesome. The bathroom was wonderful; big tub, glass shower and 2 sink counter. Room also has nice desk and even a couch. Only draw back was there was a fridge but you cant use it because it has stuff to buy (like a CAN of soda for $4) no thanks!!! The Roof Top Bar and Pool was beautiful in the day and at night. Band on Friday and Saturday evenings good too. The restaurant Lulu's in the hotel is absolutely AMAZING! The muscles were spectacular, the dessert and main course were just as good.

Room Tip: as for an odd number. Those are the ones that face the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinkerbell1391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
0.2 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
0.3 mi away
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
#4 of 7 in Punta Gorda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda

Property: The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
Address: 101 E Retta Esplanade, Punta Gorda, FL 33950-3637
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the Punta Gorda area is simply breathtaking — The Wyvern Hotel is proud to welcome guests who appreciate luxury without pretense. Our 63 room boutique hotel is impeccably appointed with every comfort you could desire for an ideal getaway to this remarkable location on Southwest Florida’s Gulf Coast. Our meeting and event space is ideal for everything from romantic wedding receptions to corporate gatherings of all types, uniquely paired with our in-house LuLu Restaurant & Sky Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing